Do you believe God is able?

Scripture:
Matthew 9:28-29 “‘Do you believe that I am able to do this?” They said to him, ‘Yes, Lord.’ Then he…[said]. ‘According to your faith let it be to you.”

Observation:
Jesus went to raise a girl from the dead, whom he said was just “sleeping”, while a woman pressed through the crowd to just “touch his garment” to be healed of her leukemia and was made well by her faith. Then upon leaving the resurrected girl’s house, two blind men screamed out for the “Son of David” to “have mercy on [them].” They desired to be healed of their blindness. However, Jesus didn’t just immediately lay hands on them and make them whole. He asked them the question of faith – “Do you believe that I am able to do this?” These blind men more than believed that Jesus could heal them. They were tired of their plight of not seeing. They desired to see the Messiah, the promised Son of David, who came to deliver them. Because of their faith, they were healed.

Application:
Is the power of God operating in your life? If not, why? Is it because of lack of faith? These blind men suffered a physical malady of vision loss. They could not see their world around them but instead had to grope through their darkness to find their way. These men longed to be able to see the light of day, but they longed to see a greater light – the light of the world – Jesus!

To catch his attention, these men yelled and screamed at the top of their lungs as they heard Jesus was coming by their way. The closer he got, you can be sure the louder they got. They not only needed the healing touch of the Son of God, they wanted God to reach out to them in their hour of need.

So many times we cry out to God to save us from ourselves or the trial we find ourselves in, but do we really believe that God can deliver us? We have needs that we want God to fix, but again, do we really believe that Jesus is able to do those things? This reason is why Jesus stopped and asked these men to make their statement of faith. He wanted them to express their faith in him and allow others to see faith in action. Jesus knew he could heal them, but he wanted them to confess their faith and put it into action.

Jesus has stopped in front of us today and asks us the same question, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?” What answer will we have for him? What problems are you facing in life right now? What do you need God to do for you? The Bible tells us that God asked the question, “Is there anything to difficult for [Me}?” God created the universe, flooded the earth, destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah, plagued Egypt, parted the Red Sea, tore down the walls of Jericho, sent an angel to kill 180,000 Assyrian soldiers in one day, exiled Israel and Judah into foreign lands, and gave the world his one and only Son, Jesus.

Jesus stopped to heal the blind, raise the dead, cast out demons, and let little children come to him. He pastured the Jews like a compassionate father cares for his children. He did the great impossible things but also paused to have compassion on people’s everyday problems. His compassion showed that there is nothing too small or too great for him to do. Whatever the need you have, God can take care of. The key to receiving the answer to your situation is having faith in God to do what he can do and said he would do.

We have to have the same response the blind men answered, “Yes, Lord.” The answer was direct, short, and to the point. There was no wavering or doubt in their reply. Jesus’ response was, “According to your faith, let it be to you.” Take your need to God in prayer today and present your petition before him. When he asks you in your heart, “Do you believe I am able to do this?” You simply reply, “Yes, Lord.”

Prayer:
Father, help me to have the faith the blind men had. I know in my head that you are able to do anything and everything. You are all powerful. There is nothing too hard for my God. I have to admit there have been times that I doubted you and didn’t believe that you could set me free and take care of my problem. I repent of my unbelief and ask you to restore my spirit. I humble myself, so that you might be lifted up. All men should be drawn to you, not me. I am the servant; you are the Master. Please do for me as you did for the apostles, “Increase my faith.” I know that without faith it is impossible to please you, and faith without works, those you appoint us to do, is dead. Strengthen me today and move on my behalf. You know the needs that I have brought before you. Please remember your promise that it is not by power, not by might, but by your Spirit that you move in my life. You are the faithful God. I need you, and want to grow in you. Your word encourages me and helps build my faith and trust in you. Thank you for watching over me and providing for my family and me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

http://www.blogsurfer.us

