Praising God daily.

Scripture:
1 Chronicles 23:30 “And each morning and evening they stood before the Lord to sing songs of thanks and praise to him.”

Observation:
David ordered a census of all Levite men over the age of 20. There were 38,000 total. He then divided the house of Levi into various groups to perform the duties required to serve in the house of God as directed by God through Moses. There were many positions to be fulfilled in God’s service. They assisted the priests in their holy duties. The Levites also sang songs of thanks and praise to God everyday twice a day.

Application:
How many people actually sing songs of thanks and praise to God daily let alone every morning and evening? The number is probably very low. Many people will sing a song that they hear on the radio or through their digital media players, but most people will only sing “church songs” on a Sunday morning or during a service.

It astounds me to read that the Levites and priests stood before the Lord in the tabernacle and sang these songs of thanks and praise every morning and evening. In other words, they started their day off right by praising God. Believers have a tough time praying to God daily and reading his Word daily. I can imagine how difficult it must be for some to even think of praising God daily (let alone twice daily) in song.

David wrote in his psalms, “Sing a new song to the Lord.” Over and over again David spoke of singing a new song to God because he knew the joy of serving God. He knew the love of God and what it meant to experience the goodness of the Lord: his mercy, his grace, his love, his compassion, his justice, his righteousness, and more. David could express his thanks to God in songs of praise. He adored God, and it was evident in his continual singing of praise.

We need to develop a similar mindset in learning to express our gratitude and love for God in the different forms of worship: song, dance, clapping, shouting, on instruments, and through our being living sacrifices. When we sing praises to God, he hears them and comes down from heaven through his Spirit and inhabits those praises. The priests and Levites by duty stood before the Lord and praised him daily, but we should stand before the Lord and praise him daily out of love for him.

Prayer:
Father, I praise your name today like never before. I will sing a new song unto you that I have never sung. Often I sing along with the radio or CD but fail to grasp what I am doing. I am making it my purpose to praise you more than I have before and to do so with passion. I love to sing about you and your greatness. Never let these lips fail to give glory, honor, and praise to the Almighty God. You died for me and gave me life I didn’t deserve. These alone are more than enough for me to praise you in song. Oh my soul, bless the Lord and sing him a new song of joy and love. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

