Know his name, its power, and hear his voice.

Scripture:
Isaiah 52:6 “But I will reveal my name to my people, and they will come to know its power. Then at last they will recognize that I am the one who speaks to them.”

Observation:
Isaiah shares with us God’s feelings on his city, Jerusalem, which bears his name forever. He woos the city and comforts her because of the devastation that she has endured over the years. He promises her that she will thrive again. God’s people were driven from her because of their sin, but God promises to fill her streets again with his people, who will hear his voice and know that he is their God.

Application:
Have you ever heard God’s voice speaking to you through his Spirit? If you have ever felt any sense of conviction in life, then you indeed have heard the voice of God. There were many times in my walk with God that I thought that I was not hearing from the Father at all. I venture to say to that many Christians would join me in saying the same. In fact I know numerous people who say they have never heard the voice of God.

I would like to inform them and you that we have heard from God, particularly if we are his people. The Bible says that the Holy Spirit works in the earth to “convict the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment: of sin, because they do not believe in Me; of righteousness, because I go to My Father and you see Me no more; of judgment, because the ruler of this world is judged” (John 16:8-11). When he convicts us, God is speaking to us. There is no doubt about it. If he hadn’t spoken to us, you would never have known to turn from your sins.

Allow me to offer this suggestion in the renewed process and endeavor of hearing God’s voice. Take time to pray. Take time to fast. Take time to read and study God’s Word. Take time to set yourself apart (consecrate) from the things of the world. Then combine these steps at various times in the course of the year, month, or day. When you purpose in your heart to take time to draw near to God, he will draw near to you.

I heard John Bevere make that statement that the Bible (thus God) says, “Pray without ceasing.” He continued by saying that God told him that prayer is a two-way communication. Thus, if we pray continually, then God speaks to us continually. If we will but take the time to close our mouths and open our hearts to him, we will hear the voice of God. When we learn to hone in on his voice and Spirit, we will come to know the power behind the name of Jesus and the power of his Spirit, who raised Jesus from the dead. Is that not awesome power to raise one from the dead?!?

Furthermore, Jesus said that if we were truly his people, then we would know his voice because his sheep (us) know his voice and will not answer to another. So what voice are you tuning in today, yours? God’s? or the devil’s? The choice to whom you listen is yours. Know this; God speaks to you all the time. Whether you are willing to “be still and know that He is God” is up to you. Follow the advice of Moses and stand still and see the salvation of God. Part of communicating is knowing when to be quiet and listen to the other person.

Prayer:
Father, during this time of fasting I am setting aside things that I normally would do but now distract me from being with you. I deny myself the pleasures of food and things to spend high quality time with you and enjoy your presence. Speak to me oh gracious One and show me the wonders of your delight. Teach me your ways and show me the path on which I am to go. I pause and silence my heart to hear from you as never before. Tune me into your Spirit in order to receive from you all that I need to know. Thank you for talking to me and sharing with me the wonders of your heart. May your will be done in me and not mine. This I ask in Jesus’ name, Amen.

