Giving my life for my wife.

Scripture:
1 John 3:16 “We know what real love is because Jesus gave up his life for us. So we also ought to give up our lives for our brothers and sisters.”

Observation:
John writes his first letter to the believers and gives a short piece on the truth of living as the children of God and what it means to live a life of love: first to God and then for our fellow man. He tells us that we know what real love is because Jesus gave his life for us. In return we are to give up our lives for the children of God.

Application:
This message today hit me right square in the nose, I might say. Why? Because it made me think of my spouse. Paul teaches us, as does Peter, that we, men, are to love our wives as Christ loved the church. Jesus gave his life for the world, out of which comes people converted to following him and thus are members of the bride of Christ. John’s words echo this teaching of loving others as Jesus loved us.

My wife is my best, closest friend on earth. We may not see eye-to-eye on everything or have a peachy day everyday, but I make it my purpose to know her and do what I can to give of myself, my whole self, to her. Not just in helping with the domestics but caring for her, tending to her needs, and doing so even when it costs me my wants and desires in everyday matters.

I have been learning to seek God for guidance and wisdom in the area of how to be a blessing to my wife and not a burden. Life is difficult enough with all its complications and nuances. If one adds in the medical issues she faces daily, the scale grows exponentially regarding difficulties and trials. I don’t need to add to that equation when, with God’s empowerment, I can work to reduce stress and make life more livable for her. It pains me everyday seeing my wife suffer in her body.

We thank God for his healing and in faith know she will overcome these maladies one day if not in this life then in the next with her glorified body given at the rapture. Until then I am going to do all I can to love her and support her and give of myself to her. I love my wife!

Prayer:
Father, thank you for giving me my wife. Your Word says that all good and perfect gifts come from you. I am merely a steward of the gifts you have given me including my wife. I desire to be a good steward and thus give my life for my wife. She is of the brethren and thus is the most deserving of my love in this world in regards to people. Continue to teach me and guide me and grant me wisdom regarding my marriage. There is much yet for me to learn in this arena. Accordingly, I am willing to do all that I am required to do make our marriage a solid, Godly marriage starting with me and changes that need to occur in me. The first of those being a greater love for my wife. The second being giving all of myself to her in a similar fashion as I have given myself completely to you. No one or thing will ever take the place of you, Dad. You will always be the first love in my life. You gave yourself for me; help me give myself for my wife, in the proper context. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

