Refinde like silver; tested like gold.

Scripture:
Zechariah 13:9 “This third I will bring into the fire; I will refine them like silver and test them like gold. They will call on my name and I will answer them; I will say, ‘They are my people,’ and they will say, ‘The LORD is our God.'”

Observation:
We come to the end of the book of Zechariah and his prophecies from God. In this part of the book God speaks of a future date when a great portion of the population of  Judah being struck down and killed, 2/3 of the people actually. Of the remaining 1/3, God says that he will take them and purify them like a metallurgist and then test them for their hardness and durability, or faithfulness.

Applicaiton:
I may not be part of the 1/3 spoken of in this passage, but I am nonetheless a child of God. We know that God is the same today as he was in the past and will be so in the future. Thus, what he did for his children in the past, he still does today. If he purified and tested them then, he will purify and test you and me. I am glad that God loves me enough to want to cleanse me from uncleanness and make me holy as he is holy and to test my faithfulness to him. Is he not the faithful God according to the Bible? I want to be able to call on the LORD’s name and have him answer my prayers and to be able to say that the LORD is my God. Thus, we need to do like the apostle James said and draw near to God in that he may draw near to us. We need to be holy as God is holy. Let us put away anything and everything that would hinder us from walking before God in humility and being more like him. Lord, purify us that we may be more like you.

Prayer:
Father, again I say come and set me in the fire of your furnance that I may have all uncleanness removed from my life. I repent of those thoughts, words, and deeds that even though they may not be sinful in themselves, but they may have caused someone offense or hurt inadvertantly. Purify me. Sanctify me. You, the LORD, are my God. I am not ashamed to admit such to anyone. Also, I accept any chastisement I may receive because I know you do so to those that you love. I don’t refuse it. Test me as gold in the fire. Make he hardened, so that I may walk stronger through the trials of life all because I can rely on you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

