God answers prayer.

Scripture:
Genesis 25:21 “Isaac prayed to the LORD on behalf of his wife, because she was childless. The LORD answered his prayer, and his wife Rebekah became pregnant.”

Observation:
Isaac, the son of promise, married his wife Rachel, who was barren. Isaac had been given the same promise as his father Abraham had that through his descendants the world would be blessed. Again we have a family to whom the thoughts of having children seemed daunting and hopeless in the physical realm. However, because God is a faithful God, He answered the prayer of his follower, Isaac, and opened the womb of his wife and gave them twins! One of those twins, Jacob, would go on later to become the father of the nation of Israel and progenitor of the Savior, Jesus.

Application:
My wife suffers from many physical maladies in her body; some of which have no natural or physical explanation. Reading the passage that Isaac prayed for his wife followed by God answering his prayer and giving them children inspires me to continue praying for my wife. Some people would be judgmental and say that there is something amiss in our lives as the reason why my wife still suffers from her ailments even in light of my praying for her.

I will not be suckered into the school of thought that I don’t have faith or enough faith because I know the Bible says that God has given to all men the same measure of faith. Those with faith the size of a grain of mustard seed can see mountains cast into the sea. I have prayed for my wife’s healing, and I know that God is the LORD God who heals us and heals us of all our sickness. For by His stripes we are healed. My prayers may not have been answered yet, but I know that they will. God still heals today! My wife will one day be healed.

Prayer:
Father, following the example of Isaac, I pray for the complete healing of my wife’s ailments and illnesses. Some we know the cause of while others we don’t. Regardless of the cause, these things can be healed because You are faithful and true. Your Word says that You heal us of all our sicknesses. The stripes Jesus endured were for our healing. By faith, I believe in Your promise and await the fulfillment of it. I entrust my wife’s healing to You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

