Give God all the credit and glory!

Scripture:
Genesis 41:16 “’I cannot do it,’ Joseph replied to Pharaoh, ‘but God will give Pharaoh the answer he desires.’”

Observation:
When Joe was a teenager, he got himself sold into slavery by his brothers for his dream interpretations. Then he was wrongly thrown into prison where he interpreted dreams for Pharaoh’s servants, one of whom was spared and had agreed to mention Joe before Pharaoh to possibly get him released from prison. Then it occurred that Pharaoh had a dream no one could interpret causing the cup bearer to remember Joe and his dream telling, who was brought before Pharaoh to interpret his dream. Joe said that he could not, but God would give the answer Pharaoh sought.

Application:
Joe had about 13-17 years to sit in prison and think about his bragging and sharing of dreams with his brothers, who sold him into slavery and got into prison later on under false accusation. However, God did that to later spare Israel in order to build them into a nation, as He had promised the patriarchs.

While in prison, Joe learned the long, hard lesson of humility. He could go nowhere and do nothing other than tend to the daily grind of the prison yard. He had God’s favor there in prison, but he still was confined. Joe had lots of time to think and pray. God taught him patience, endurance, and most importantly humility.

When it came time to interpret Pharaoh’s dream and save his skin from dying in prison, Joe admitted that he couldn’t tell its meaning. However, he acknowledged the God of heaven as being the source of interpretation for all dreams. God alone could do this work and no other. Joe understood that God would not share His glory with anyone. Thus, Joe remained humble before God.

We would do well to learn the lesson that Joseph had to learn while rotting in a prison cell. He was forced to do so because he had nothing else to do. We are wise if we see his plight and correct our behavior to emulate the good he did in learning to be humble and giving the glory to God–all the glory to God!!!

Prayer:
Father, without You I am able to do nothing except march down the wide path of destruction leading to hell. You are the One who loved me before the foundation of the world. You are the One who gave His only Son as payment for my eternal death sentence. You are the One who gave me new, abundant life and extended grace toward me. I deserve nothing but death, twice over; however, You chose me in spite of my shortcomings and deficiencies. I give You all the glory and admit that any and all that I do and can do is because of Your desire to enable me through the power of Your Spirit to do the work You have called me to do. I bow before You and give You all the glory! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

