Listen to your Father.

Scripture:
Genesis 49:2 ““Assemble and listen, sons of Jacob; listen to your father Israel.”

Observation:
Jacob had gone to Egypt to survive the coming famine and not starve and perish. Joseph had given his family the best land of Egypt on which to grow livestock and raise children. As Jacob neared the end of his life, he called for his sons to prophesy over each one of them as to what the future held for each of them. When he called together his sons, Israel said to them “listen to your father…”.

Application:
Each one of us, who is a child of God, needs to extrapolate this command and apply to the Word of our Father, Jehovah. It is amazing that in such a short space, Israel commanded the presence of his earthly sons, and they each obeyed and listened to his words. When we stop long enough to shut our mouths and hear the Word of God, we will know what God commands of us. The Bible says that we are His children created in His image. Likewise, Jesus, the Son of God, said that He only did what He heard the Father tell him to do. Additionally, Jesus told the apostles, and us, that if we love Him, we will keep His commandments. Let us learn to be vigilant and diligent to listen to the voice of God through His Holy Spirit. The Spirit of God will only tell us what the Father has told Him. The Spirit of God will only bear witness of Jesus. It is our duty and pleasure to listen to God and do His will. It is like the old song says, “Trust and obey, for there is no other way than to trust in Jesus.”

Prayer:
Father, oh how sweet is Your Word like honey to the lips and yet health to my body and life to my bones because it is alive and quickened and sharper than any double-edged sword. Today I hear You telling me, “Son, listen to me. I have so much I want to share with You about Your future and the plans I have made for You.” Accordingly, I am reminded of the verse David penned that says to be still and know that You are God. As I pause and reflect on Your Word today, I hear You speaking to me through Your Spirit, who says, “Listen to your Father. Your Father in heaven.” And as so many godly men of the Bible responded to Your call, “Here am I, LORD!” is my response also. I humbly quiet myself to hear the Word You have for me. I will listen and obey. I love you, Dad. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

