When the going gets tough, the tough rely on God.

Scripture:
Exodus 34:4 “So Moses chiseled out two stone tablets like the first ones and went up Mount Sinai early in the morning, as the LORD had commanded him; and he carried the two stone tablets in his hands.”

Observation:
God spoke to Moses and told him to chisel out two stone tablets like the first ones he broke and to come up Mount Sinai to meet with Him. There God said He’d rewrite the 10 Commandments on the new stone tablets for the people of Israel. Thus, Moses carved out to like stones and ascended the mountain with tablets in hand.

Application:
The climb up any mountain is no easy task. It requires one’s full attention and concentration, as the ledges, edges, and crags can be difficult and tricky to maneuver. Moses not only had to climb the rather large mountain, but he had to do so with stone tablets in tow. He carried them by hand, the Bible says. Thus, his grip was not necessarily on the mountain, as I am sure that the stone tablets were not pocket-size but more than likely large, heavy rocks. They added to the difficulty of the climb whether there was a path cut through the mountain side or not.

Our walk in life with God is no different. There are times when God will require us to do more than the usual. In fact, I would venture to say that those whom we consider Bible heroes did so more often than not. They endured trials, tribulations, persecutions, and even death all in the course of serving their God. Why should it be any less for us in this day and age? Do we not have the same narrow path to follow that the prophets and apostles did? The narrow path that leads to life is not an easy path to find because Jesus said there would be few that find it in comparison to the road that leads to destruction, which broad and many will find it and follow it to their demise.

The beauty of it all is that even though our walk with God is not always a walk in the park or a bed of roses, there is always hope in Christ. He said that if we endure to the end, we would be saved. The day has come when many will be offended because of Jesus and will betray the brethren and the love of many grows cold. These are but the beginnings of sorrow, and the church is rampant with these signs. However, the Lord told us, “Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls” (Matt. 11:29). When we cross the finish line, we will enter into our LORD’s rest. It is a promise.

Prayer:
Father, though at times I feel like I am scaling mountain after mountain with my work in tow, I know that Your Word says that I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me. Encountering roadblocks and stoppages along life’s path are inevitable, but Your Spirit will lead me and guide me in all truth. I have found the door to the fold through the narrow gate that leads to life. I pray that more will find it and be counted among “the few” of whom you spoke. It is heartbreaking that so many people will not find the way, the truth and the life of Jesus, who leads us to You. So, when the work seems extremely tough, I look to You to help me through. I put my trust in You to empower me to get the job done that I cannot do alone. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

