The Year of Jubilee–Time to shout!

Scripture:
Leviticus 25:13 “In this Year of Jubilee everyone is to return to their own property.”

Observation:
Nearing the end of this book, Moses tells us the law of the Year of Jubilee. The Lord demanded that every 50 years that all that had been sold within Israel would be returned to its original owners, and all debts would be cancelled. It was to be the year of restoration. A man who had been hired out to pay his debts would be set free. His debt was paid in full come Jubilee. If someone got in financial trouble just after the Jubilee, it would be a long time for redemption until the next Jubilee, unless there was a kinsman-redeemer who could buy back the debt/land.

Application:
The Year of Jubilee was a foreshadowing of the coming of the Messiah, Jesus, when He would proclaim the final Jubilee through His blood sacrifice thereby setting free all of man’s sin debts and cancelling them through atonement on the cross. In Israel, the Year of Jubilee was a once in a 50 year celebration of freedom and redemption, yet through Jesus we have that daily! The Year of Jubilee was looked forward to with great anticipation by those in Israel who had been indentured servants or were indebted to a lender. For it was then that they were restored as one of the nation of Israel with honor and dignity again and not having the burden of debt over their heads.

Oh that we would learn to see the freedom and release from our sin debts through the blood of Jesus. He died, so that we could live. He was tortured and imprisoned that we might be free. He was torn to shreds that we might be whole. He was burdened with sin and shame that we might be at rest and in peace. Jesus is our Jubilee. He restored us to the relationship that is possible with God the Father that Adam had in the beginning. With Jesus, our Jubilee is permanent and not a semi-centennial event.

Prayer:
Father, thank You for breaking the cycle of indebtedness and giving us the permanent, everlasting freedom in Jesus, Your Son. I am grateful that my Jubilee sits at Your right hand and defends me against the accusations of the accuser. I have been washed in the blood of Your Son that pardoned my past sins and released me from the debt I owed for my sins. I can rejoice as did the Hebrews when Jubilee came around. I have greater reason to shout for my freedom and to rejoice that my debt has been cancelled because Jesus’ sacrifice reconciled me to You and kept me from hell. THANK YOU! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

