When to stop and go, as the LORD leads.

Scripture:
Numbers 9:23 “At the LORD’s command they encamped, and at the LORD’s command they set out. They obeyed the LORD’s order, in accordance with his command through Moses.”

Observation:
God had given the Hebrews a command that whenever His presence in the cloud/fire moved, they were to pack up camp and move wherever the LORD God led them. When the cloud/fire stopped, the people were to also stop there and set up camp. They did this whenever the Spirit of God moved from place to place. The Scriptures tell us that sometimes it may have been for a day or two, a week, a month, or even a year. At the end of chapter 9, it says that the people obeyed God’s order, as given through Moses.

Application:
Many times in my life, I have desired to hear God speak to me and tell me things wondrous and new and often at my own frustration because of selfishness and impatience on my part. Paul teaches us in Philippians that we are to pray without ceasing. Well, if prayer is a dialog between God and us, then that means that God speaks to us continually. He will tell us when to move and when to stay if we will but close our mouths long enough to hear what the Spirit tells us.

It has not been an easy process, BUT I am learning to art and beauty of listening to the voice of God through His Spirit. For even Jesus said that He did nothing but what He saw the Father do and said nothing but what He heard the Father say. Prayer was key in His disciplining Himself in obedience to the Father. We need to learn to be sensitive to God’s Spirit, who knows the mind and will of the Father. He WILL lead us and guide us in all Truth and show us where to go in life and when to stay put. Sometimes it’s just a matter of doing like God said to David, “Be still, and know that I am God.”

Prayer:
Father, please continue to enhance my ability to hear Your voice. Your Word says that the body takes all direction from the Head, which is Jesus. I don’t want to move or attempt to make a move without having spoken to You first and hearing from You as to whether the time is right. Paul attempted to go into new areas to preach, but Your Spirit prevented him from doing so because Macedonia was where You needed and wanted him to be. Sometimes, I feel that way. I am doing what I know to do in Your kingdom but am blocked from doing it at times. I am learning to take all my directions “from the tower” as they used to say on the firing range. You sit in that tower and give the orders, marching orders or the order to halt. I humble myself before You and ask Your guidance on the new position for which I am qualified. Show me if this is the next move. I await Your command. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

