Don’t be unequally yoked.

Scripture:
Deuteronomy 22:10 “Do not plow with an ox and a donkey yoked together.”

Observation:
As the instructions continued, Moses taught the next generation that they must not yoke a team of work animals together from different breeds. An ox and donkey were not to be worked together because the animals had different sizes and strengths and would only work against each other rather than together to get the job done. It would have been an exercise in futility accomplishing nothing but frustrating the owner.

Application:
Jesus taught us in the Olivet sermon that we are not to be yoked unequally with an unbeliever. Paul asked the same question later in time, “What does a believer have in common with an unbeliever?” God makes the point that sin and holiness should not be linked together.

Just as an ox and donkey would work against each other despite their strength and ability to get the load moved down the road, sinners and believers united together usually end up in the gutter of sin together. Believers don’t possess the strength internally to resist temptation when with unbelievers without the Holy Spirit working in and through them. (i.e., A believer marrying an unbeliever would only have troubles in the marriage and would most likely end up divorced and in worse shape than before getting married.)

John teaches us that being friends with the world is enmity with God. He is not saying we are not to be “friendly” to those in the world because we are to love our neighbor (everyone) as ourselves and serve them in reaching the lost for Christ. However, to hang out with and associate with unbelievers on a regular basis as best buds will only entice you stray from God. Yes, we must live and work among them, but we are not to be like them. We are not to “hitch” ourselves to them because they are not part of the body of Christ. Their sin could be an infectious agent that sickens and weakens the body of Christ if left unchecked. Thus we are through the Spirit to witness to them, convert them, baptize them, and disciple them in the ways of God.

Prayer:
Father, although I work among the heathen and live among them, I don’t desire to be a part of that world anymore. I lived in the world according to its ways and standards for nearly half of my life. I fell into sin and chaos because I befriended the world and eventually was sucked down into its miry clay that held me captive and enslaved me to its deathly and destructive habits. It was only through Your grace and love and mercy and compassion that I was able to come out of Egypt and step into the Promised Land of New Jerusalem. Thank You for sparing me from the throws of death and sin. By the blood of Your Son, Jesus, I am now free in You to live a life filled with love, joy, peace, patience, goodness, kindness, humility, faithfulness, and self-control. I went through more than one relationship where I enjoined myself to an unbeliever that cost me all these Godly things as well as time, money, and effort not to mention heartache and sorrow. Again, thank You for breaking sin’s yoke of bondage from off my neck! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

