Expect to see results of your prayers.

Scripture:
Matthew 21:22 “And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive.”

Observation:
Jesus had become hungry and desired something to eat as He came upon a fig tree that bore no fruit. He told the tree to wither up and die, which it did rather quickly to the astonishment of the disciples. Jesus then told them that if they had faith, even as small as a mustard seed, they would do likewise to the fig tree but also could tell a mountain to be cast into the sea, which would happen! He then proceeded to tell them that whatever they ask in prayer, while believing, they would receive.

Application:
When we pray to God, do we really believe that He will give us what we ask for or just present a wish list? It makes me wonder because I see so many people “praying” for people and things, but they never receive what they petition God for during their prayers. There are some things that will hinder our prayers: husbands not treating their wives right, unbelief, doubt, asking for selfish reasons, and asking for things that have no relevance to our walk with Messiah.

I am inventorying my reasons for petitioning God for the things I ask for in prayer. I want to ensure that my heart is in the right place, that I am praying for those things that I know God wants me to have not just personal wants that have no real place in my life, and to come boldly before the throne of grace knowing that my Father knows what I have need of before I even ask Him. However, I will ask Him for what I need, not because I must beg Him for them, but He wants me to ask Him and be reliant upon Him and not myself. I believe that what I ask God for in prayer, He will provide.

Prayer:
Father, I used to waver in my faith when I prayed to You because I never really trusted in You to provide what I asked of You. I doubted and didn’t really trust that You are omnipotent and able to deliver upon my prayers. However, I am learning to exercise my faith more and more and am daring enough to do the seemingly impossible and ask for such. There is nothing that my God cannot do! If You could call Peter out on the water and watch him walk even a few steps toward You, then why can’t I ask for the seemingly impossible and believe that You will deliver. You are the faithful God. Thus, You can and will do the impossible for me! I believe in You to heal my wife of her MS, headaches, joint problems, bladder problems, kidney problems, blood issues, unknown pains, and any other ailment or disease that currently is destroying her body. I believe You will strengthen our marriage and make it a good one full of love, joy, peace, faith and hope. You are able! I believe and expect to receive because You said to ask and receive, seek and find, knock and be opened to. So that You may be glorified, In Jesus’ name, Amen.

