Do you have ears to hear?

Scripture:
Mark 7:16 “If any man have ears to hear, let him hear.”

Observation:
A group of Pharisees approached Jesus inquiring of Him why His disciples ate food without washing their hands, as was the tradition of the Jewish people for eons. Jesus chided the Pharisees because they had replaced the commandments of God with their own cultural traditions. They actually made their disciples (followers) more of a heathen than themselves. Thus, Jesus posed the statement, “If any man have ears to hear, let him hear.”

Application:
What commandment of God have you (and I) been ignoring or superceded with our cultural and personal traditions, which we take as gospel rather than the Word of God? It is so easy to replace the Word of God with the words of men or even the doctrine of demons! The time has now come, as prophesied in the Bible by Jesus and Paul, when men will not endure sound doctrine but will heap upon themselves men teaching false doctrine to satisfy their itching ears. This intentional departing from the Word of God will abound because lawlessness abounds within the halls of our churches resulting in the love of many growing cold due to offenses that have arisen within the body of the Messiah. We need to get back to the basics of the gospel of Jesus and re-teach our people what it is to be a Christian and how to produce fruit worthy of repentance, be fruitful, multiply spiritually, and walk through the narrow gate that leads to the narrow road that leads to life eternal with the Messiah. What has the Spirit of God been saying to you? Do you have ears to hear what the Spirit says?

Prayer:
Father, I repent of my self-reliant, self-sufficient, self-absorbed, egomaniacal ways. I have not relied upon You much at all lately and have been just coasting and cruising along down life’s highway. Instead I should have been seeking You, finding out what You want me to do, and doing that very thing(s). Forgive me for being complacent this week and even more so of acting independent of You. I confess my sin to You and trust in Your forgiveness. Help me not to be a bench/pew-warmer but an active player in the work of Your kingdom. I want to let my light so shine before men of this world that they see the good deeds and glorify You and want to have a personal, intimate relationship with You, also. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

