With God there is no lacking.

Luke 22:35 ” Then Jesus asked them, ‘When I sent you without purse, bag or sandals, did you lack anything?’ ‘Nothing,’ they answered.”

Observation:
Jesus had a final Pesach meal (a seder) with His disciples prior to His arrest, trial, beating and execution. He discussed many things with them at the dinner. One of these topics was about how He had sent them out to minister while they were with Him. He asked them if they ever lacked anything when He sent them out. They replied with a big no. Then He turns the corner and tells them to take those things they will need with Him because He was not going to be with them much longer. He would be executed on the stake and be buried (but would come back to life three days later).

Application:
I am not making a doctrine out of this passage, but I can’t help but notice a very stark contrast in Jesus’ words here. When He sent them out to minister, they never lacked anything that they physically needed (or spiritually either). Then when He tells them that He won’t be with them soon, they will need to take everything they need with them. For me the message today is a simple one. When God is with you, you are never lacking anything that you need. If God is not with you, you will lack everything you need in life.

This is so true because Jesus taught us that God knows what we need before we ask of Him and that we are not to worry ourselves about food, water and clothing. God the Father provides those things for us when He is with us, living in us, and is our God. If we are children of the word/Satan, then we will worry about such things and strive for them rather than strive for the things of God. We have an assurance from Jesus that God is truly our Provider. We must trust in Him to provide the bare necessities and to take care of us.

Is God the Father really your Provider? Do you trust Him to give you what you need? Most importantly, is God with you — living in you as your Lord and Savior and King and Provider, etc?

Prayer:
Father, Your Word is so clear to me today. Before I knew You and accepted Your love gift of eternal life through Jesus, I was always worrying about things and searching for answers the world couldn’t provide. Now that You are my Lord and Savior and King, You are also my Provider and Comforter. I don’t have to worry about yesterday because it is gone. Today is being taken care of by You, and tomorrow may never come — why worry. I trust in You to provide for my needs and those of my family. Your provision is more than enough. Why did I ever think that I could do it alone with You? Oh foolish me! Have mercy upon me Great One and show Your favor upon me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

