Wholly following the LORD my God.

Scripture:
Nevertheless my brethren that went up with me made the heart of the people melt: but I wholly followed the LORD my God. – Joshua 14:8

Observation:
Caleb, son of Jephuneh, came to Joshua to reclaim the land promised to him by God through Moses. Moses had sent out 12 spies to recon the land of Canaan and report back to him about its inhabitants, produce, animals, etc. Ten of the 12 came back with a frightening report that caused Israel to distrust God and tempt him. Only Caleb and Joshua spoke the truth and tried to inspire the people to take the land. Because these two men were zealous for their God, they were the only two men of fighting age at the exodus from Egypt that would live to see and enter the Promised Land.

Application:
How many people around you that claim to be Christians are nothing more than a bunch of naysayers trying to discourage others from doing anything for God either by their own inactivity or trash talking about people or even going to the point of teaching false doctrine or heresy? Many people are losing a foothold in the faith. They are slipping away one step at a time toward apostasy just as Jesus said. Their hearts grow cold toward God and will eventually see their demise in hell.

Don’t be like the 10 doubting spies, but like Joshua and Caleb instead and “wholly [follow] the LORD [your] God!” For those that doubted God and didn’t trust Him, they died in the desert and lost their inheritance. Those two who wholly trusted the LORD lived to reach the Promised Land and share in the inheritance awaiting them. Do you want to be like the entire generation that died off in the wilderness or like Joshua and Caleb and cross over the Jordan River into the Promised Land? If your trust is in the LORD with all of your spirit, soul, and body, and have made Jesus your LORD and Savior, then you may taste of the physical death, which we are all appointed, but you will live forever with the King of kings!

Prayer:
Father, I come to you with a jubilant heart and great respect and gratitude, all in the name of Jesus, Your Son. I petition You today for the strength to carry on and hold onto You in order that I may reach the Promised Land of heaven and spend eternity with You. I don’t doubt for a second that You can provide and can overcome any situation I face. Accordingly, there is the issue of greater unity in my marriage. I humbly ask You, Daddy, to help me love my wife better than ever before and give me wisdom to foster a greater atmosphere of cooperation and trust. You said I don’t have because I don’t ask. Well, I am asking You for wisdom to make my marriage a better one and to have a little slice of heaven here on earth until the day I step into glory before You. Amen.

