Check with God before making any sudden move.

Scripture:
…so David inquired of the LORD, “Shall I go and attack the Philistines? Will you deliver them into my hands?”  The LORD answered him, “Go, for I will surely deliver the Philistines into your hands.” – 2 Samuel 5:19

Observation:
David had been made king over all Israel. When the Philistines heard of this news, they marched against Israel to attack it. David mustered his forces and went to engage in the battle. Before he ever took one step against the enemy, he asked of GOd whether or not he should attack. The LORD replied that David should attack because He’d given them into his hands.

Application:
David sought the LORD before going into battle against the Philistines every time. He wanted to make sure that the LORD was with him and guiding him in the right direction. We, too, should seek out God in everything we do particularly in those matters that are life-changing and have profound impact upon others and ourselves. Our lives would be so much happier, joyful, and successful IF we would but ask God first before making gigantic decisions of which we will reap later.

David’s example provides for us the right framework for having success in our lives. Granted he messed up at times and had to repent of his wrong choices, but I refer to the instances related to us in this passage. David knew better than to run off into battle and just have his way of things. He’d seen the life of Saul and what happened to those that disobeyed God and were rebellious toward Him. They were cut off from the land and lost out on God’s favor. David knew to trust in the LORD even if the Spirit of God had not been upon him.

What decision are you about to make that could alter your life and destiny? Have you sought God on the matter? Where does God fit into the scheme of things? OR, does He? Are you so self-confident, self-reliant, and self-sufficient that you don’t think you need to ask God about your next move? Do you know the end from the beginning? Are you living outside of time that you’ve created? Do you have the foreknowledge of your consequences? I dare say not! Seek God before you even think of changing things like employment, marriage, dating, moving, church to attend, etc. Seek first God’s kingdom and righteousness, AND THEN He’ll add all the cares of life to you. Trust in the LORD and His might. He will lead you and guide you into all truth by the Spirit.

Prayer:
Father, there is so much going on around me that I dare not take another step in any direction without consulting You first. You know the situation at work and how I long for greater, more satisfying work, but You have me where You want me. I’d much rather be elsewhere teaching and preaching, but I submit to You. I have sought You about this matter more than once, and to date I’ve received no clear answer from You on the matter. Thus, I have put the car in park and set the brake until You give me the okay to move forward. I am continually learning to rely solely upon You more and more. I used to be Mr. Know-it-all and Do-it-all, but those attitudes made life miserable. Show me the way, and I will follow. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

