It’s God or nothing; you choose.

Scripture:
And you, my son Solomon, acknowledge the God of your father, and serve him with wholehearted devotion and with a willing mind, for the LORD searches every heart and understands every desire and every thought. If you seek him, he will be found by you; but if you forsake him, he will reject you forever. – 1 Chronicles 28:9

Observation:
David neared the end of his life and reign as king over Israel and addressed the people one last time. He spoke of the provisions that he had made for construction materials with which Solomon would build the temple. He spoke of the gold, silver, precious stones, lumber, metals, and other things dedicated for this task. However, he turned to his son and told him to serve God with all his heart and soul and to do seek out while God could he could be found. David told Solomon to follow God and not turn away from God, or God would reject him forever.

Application:
We need to serve God with all of our heart and soul! We need to seek to God while he is able to be found. We need God, period! Without God we are nothing! Do you hear me??? Without the FATHER we are nothing. There is nothing outside of God. He made us. He owns us. He cares for us. He wants us. He gave us the law first to expose our sins and turn us toward him, but he also gave us his only Son, Jesus, to save us from ourselves as well as sin. We cannot save ourselves! No matter how hard or good we try, we cannot save ourselves!!!

THEREFORE, we must humble ourselves and seek out God and serve him with all our heart and soul and love him with all our heart, soul, mind and strength. Let us do as James said and draw near to God that he may draw near to us! Let us do as David said and hunt for him while there is time to find him. Once we die, there is no second chance at finding God. We either learn to seek him out and serve him or die in sin and rot in hell. It’s plain and simple!

Prayer:
Father, after what I have been through lately, I fully understand the need to find you and seek you like those hunting buried or hidden treasure. I desire to serve you and be used of you. Forgive me for not having hunted you out and for not listening for you voice more attentively than I have. I fell on my face because of pride and cowardice. Strengthen me and lift me up. Set my feet on the Rock to stand and not on the shifting sand. I love you with all of me. Thank you for loving me, Dad. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

