Doing what’s right in God’s eyes.

Scripture:
He did what was right in the eyes of the LORD, just as his father David had done. – 2 Chronicles 29:2

Observation:
This passage states a very strong word about Hezekiah. He did what was right in God’s eyes just as did King David. David was known as a man after God’s own heart. Thus, his great-X grandson must have been a man after God’s heart as well. David was known for serving God wholeheartedly. In a later passage, the Bible states that Hezekiah served God wholeheartedly. He did what was right in God’s eyes.

Application:
There is just something to be said about serving God wholeheartedly. When we serve God with all of our heart and soul, we show that we live a life fully dedicated to God. We are “sold out” to him. We don’t find serving God as a drudgery or a coerced act of obedience. Serving God becomes a joy and pleasure. Why? Because we serve him out of love for our Father.

So many people serve God to try to impress him or earn something from him because they really don’t love him and/or are misguided about salvation. They think that somehow doing things for God will get his attention and change his mind about them. Doing things will not get you closer to God. The only thing that gets you close to God is to give your life completely to him and draw near to him through prayer and study of his word. The more you seek God with your heart and soul, the closer you will come to God because he will come close to you.

You can’t do what is right in the eyes of God unless you love God with all your heart and soul. If you don’t seek him and serve him wholeheartedly, you won’t serve him at all because you will eventually grow cold. You will more than likely become offended over Jesus, grow cold in your love for him, and turn away from him. Jesus spoke of this apostasy himself. SO please, check your heart today and review why you serve God in the first place. If it is not out of love for God, you need to re-evaluate your relationship with God.

Prayer:
Father, I have a heart set on serving you and doing what is right in your eyes. I do so not to win favor or approval from you because I cannot do so. I have set my heart on you because you love me and I love you. I am bound and determined to seek you and find you above all else. Nothing will stand between you and me. Help me to be known as a person who loved his God with all his heart and soul and served his God in like manner. I cannot serve you wholeheartedly without the power of your Spirit. I pray that your Spirit produce his fruit in me. I love you with all my heart and soul. Your will be done in my life and not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

