Share your faith; know the good we have in Christ.

Scripture:
I pray that you may be active in sharing your faith, so that you will have a full understanding of every good thing we have in Christ. – Philemon 1:6

Observation:
Paul writes a personal letter to his dear friend, Philemon. The letter centers on the return of Onesimus, Philemon’s slave, to his master but as a brother in Christ rather than just a slave. In the opening of the letter, however, Paul tells Philemon that he hopes he starts sharing his faith with others. Why? So that he would fully understand every good thing we have in Christ.

Application:
Who would have thought that sharing one’s faith with others could cause that person to have a fuller understanding of all we have in Christ? Imagine that! WOW! Therefore, I have to ask you and me, “Do you have a full understanding of EVERY good thing we have in Christ” Now, we may not ever fully know everything about God in this life, but we can have a full understanding of every good thing we have in Christ!

Have you wondered why we enjoy this or that in this life, yet we suffer at other times? Well, you and I can gain that fuller understanding of why God loves us, why God gives us grace, why God gave Jesus for us, why God has mercy and compassion on us, and everything else God does for us.

We do this by sharing our faith with others. When we tell others about God’s goodness toward us, we start to see and hear TRUTH in action. We see and hear with our eyes and ears what the Spirit speaks through us about Himself to the world! He gives us a clearer picture of all the good gifts that come from God to us.

James wrote that every good and perfect gift comes from the Father above! When we receive these gifts, we don’t always understand why or what they are for. However, in witnessing to others, we put those gifts to use and begin to “see” and understand their purpose in our lives and the lives of others.

Prayer:
Father, help me to share my faith more! I do it at work when possible. This environment is very prohibitive to sharing the Good News being that it is a “politically correct” workplace. I do my best to share my witness despite the negative, satanic atmosphere that predominates this place. I trust that your Spirit living in me would shine forth through me in this darkness. Please allow the Light of Jesus to shine in me like never before. Help me to understand every good thing I have in you! I know that these good things are not meant just for my benefit, but these gifts are for the others around me. Give me a renewed boldness to declare your glory and great works to the lost! Help me to equip others in the family to do the same. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

