I believe in God, so I speak (preach).

Scripture:
But we continue to preach because we have the same kind of faith the psalmist had when he said, “I believed in God, so I spoke.” – 2 Corinthians 4:13

Observation:
Paul, in his 3rd letter to the Corinthian church, explains to the congregation that he and his fellow workers are preaching the truth of the Good News of Jesus. They are not peddling the Word for money, as evidenced in the litany of abuses and sufferings they’ve endured to bring the Good News to people. Paul and company have gone through every type of suffering imaginable: hunger, thirst, beatings, homelessness, and the more. He assures the church that they preach what they do because they have faith in God, as quoted in the psalmist’s words, “I believed in God, so I spoke.”

Application:
I wish we all had the tenacity and drive that Paul and the psalmist had! They felt the unrelenting drive to declare the truth of God’s Word – the Good News of Jesus – to they dying world around them. These men preached the truth because they had faith in God. They knew that since God spoke it, it would be so. This idea should take us back to the beginning of time in the creation story. With each “new day” and with each creation, God spoke things into existence, and it was so. Thus, Paul and psalmist learned to rely upon the stability and faithfulness of God to bring about what He has said. They knew that God’s Word is real, alive, and active. There is an understanding that God’s Word has more than intrinsic value; it has power!

Thus, these men could stand and say they believed in God, so they spoke. They knew God to be real and more than just a distant idea of a supreme being uninvolved in the affairs of men. They knew Him to be alive and not some dead, lifeless hunk of rock, metal or wood. Because these men had experienced the reality Who is God, they had faith in Him and the confidence to declare His Word. Oh that we would learn to know God so intimately and personally as to be compelled with great confidence and trust to declare His Word! Join in me in sharing the beauty that is the Word of God – Jesus! There is a dying world that must hear the truth of the Good News before they perish and live in eternal torment. We know that not every person born will enter heaven, but we don’t know who that is. Only God knows the end from the beginning; thus, we must trust in Him and deliver the Good News to those whom God has predestined since the foundation of the world.

Prayer:
Father, I simply pray that you give me the same unction as had Paul and the psalmist in knowing that I can believe in You and thus have the need to speak out Your Good News of salvation to the lost. I know tough times lie ahead of my family and me as we pick up our pack and head out on the coming mission You’ve assigned us. You never said that this life would be easy. In fact You’ve warned us time and again in Scripture that times of suffering await all who are called of You. We are to participate in the sufferings of the cross for Your sake. I will address this in greater detail in my next time of private prayer. I love You, Dad. Thank You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

