The important thing is for the LORD to commend you, not yourself.

Scripture:
When people commend themselves, it doesn’t count for much. The important thing is for the Lord to commend them. – 2 Corinthians 10:18

Observation:
Paul writes near the end of his third letter to the Corinthian congregation that he does not commend himself, as do others. He notes that the Bible says only to boast in the LORD and not in yourself. Paul makes the matter explicitly clear when he says, “the important thing is for the LORD to commend [you].” Paul demonstrates the proper attitude of humility and giving all glory and honor to God, which is proper because God does not share His glory with anyone.

Application:
Have you ever known someone who just loves to talk about themselves and promote themselves? Well, I used to be that person. It has taken a long time for God to help me learn the beauty of humility. A while back I read in Micah 6:8, ” O people, the Lord has told you what is good, and this is what he requires of you: to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.” Micah’s words speak to Paul’s words of letting the LORD commend people and not themselves.

Elsewhere in the Bible we are warned not to be proud or arrogant because these two attitudes lead to destruction, as they did for Lucifer. The Bible also teaches us that God resists proud people but gives grace to the humble. Jesus also noted that the one who humbles himself will be exalted by God while the self-exalted one will be brought down by God. Which do you prefer and would rather have — God commending you (exalting you) or being knocked down a notch or two by God?

Take it from an old hand at being proud. It’s no fun being the one to tout your accomplishments and blowing your own horn. No one likes a braggart because the braggart is always making others feel less important in order to build up oneself. We can confidently say that pride is number one on God’s hit list. The person who walks in pride will often end up walking alone because people tend to shy away from the overly confident one, who makes self out to be a god.

In the kingdom of God, there can only be one King. The King is Jesus. He doesn’t share His glory with anyone, including you and me. He will, however, brag about His children at times like any dad does. It is best to let God commend you rather than doing so yourself. My life has been spent suffering through the consequences of bragging all the time and walking in pride continually. It is only through the power and teaching of the Holy Spirit that I have learned to walk in humility, which by the way is an ongoing process that never stops. You don’t just arrive one day and are no longer proud or arrogant. You have to do three things to maintain a spirit of humility before God: 1) deny yourself, 2) pick up your cross daily, and 3) follow Jesus. Wait a minute! Aren’t those the words of Jesus and what He said are the requirements for being His disciple? I do believe so; read Luke 9:23.

Prayer:
Father, it’s not easy to walk in humility everyday. People have a great tendency to promote self rather than submit to Your mighty hand. I struggle daily and have to crucify my flesh on the cross every morning, or I would see pride creep in and try to assume the throne of my heart that belongs to You alone. If I have dethroned myself off the throne of my heart, I am not about to let pride and arrogance come back and usurp what is Yours. I rely upon the power of Your love and grace to continue to walk in humility. Thus, I don’t want to blow my horn any longer, but I desire to let You commend me. As Paul said, I will boast only in You! You, alone, are worthy to receive glory, honor, and power. I am made simply for Your good pleasure. I bow to You, Your Majesty. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

