Who knows what tomorrow brings?

Scripture:
Don’t boast about tomorrow, for you don’t know what the day may bring. – Proverbs 27:1

Observation:
Solomon’s advice that begins this chapter of Proverbs has echoed throughout the annals of time. It has been repeated by many people including our Messiah when he walked this earth. Even James warned against making strong claims about bragging about doing things “tomorrow.”

Application:
Many people make foolish claims about what they are going to do in the future, especially when the word they speak has not come from God. We have learned that if God spoke a promise, then it will happen. Therefore, if God promised someone a certain thing will pass, it will. His Word does not return void to Him; it does what it set out to do.

On the other hand, Jesus taught us not to worry about what tomorrow brings because it will take care of itself. Accordingly, His brother, James, said that we don’t know what tomorrow will bring. When people get wrapped around the axle with worry about what tomorrow brings, they live their lives in fear filled with anxiety.

Jesus taught us to seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness then God would add to us the necessities of life. The Father knows what we have need of before we even ask Him, but we are to ask Him for it in prayer. The world around us seems to be falling apart at the seams with worry about economic collapse and environmental disasters. The level of crime in the world increases annually. The weather worsens with each passing month. These things are enough to make anyone to become alarmed and discouraged IF they don’t have Messiah.

Because the Messiah lives in each believer, we need to learn to fully trust God to care for us and provide for us. We may even fall on hard times and lose a job or a family member or have a natural disaster wipe out our entire physical means. BUT, this is not the end for the believer. We have the Blessed Hope of Jesus working in our lives and through our lives. We need to learn to follow David’s advice from Ps. 46:10 and “be still and know that [He] is God.” You don’t have to live life in worry or fear because God didn’t give us a spirit of fear but of love and joy and a sound mind.

If your world caves in around you, you have hope the world doesn’t have. Jesus showed us the path to life and gave us the key to having what we need in life. We MUST seek FIRST God’s kingdom and God’s righteousness. Remember Joseph and how his brothers sold him into slavery and how he was falsely accused of rape and how he was forgotten by those he helped in times of trouble. He spent 17 years in prison and could have given up on God, but he knew that the vision he had from God would come true one day. He kept faith with Jehovah and never let go. Because of his obedience to and trust in God, he became the prime minister of ancient Egypt and saved his entire family and set up the future expansion of the nation of Israel.

Don’t try to force the hand of God in your life. Wait upon Him. Don’t make outrageous claims about the future that you can’t back up; you’ll be made to look foolish when they don’t happen. I know; I’ve been there. It is very embarrassing to say the least. Also, don’t give up on God. Just when things look their darkest, the calm of the storm is just around the corner. There is a Light at the end of the tunnel; His name is Jesus.

Prayer:
Father, so many times I have made some tremendous claims about the things “I” thought You were going to in my life and found out through public ridicule and shame that they weren’t going to transpire. I claimed that You’d told me I’d be a doctor. I’d claimed that You would do this and that only to have realized later that I was boasting in myself. However, when I was 12 years old, I knew beyond the shadow of any doubt that You’d called me to preach. The problem was that I believed the lies of the devil and followed my path that I thought was right but led to hell rather than walking in the Spirit on the narrow Path (Way) that leads to Life (You). I have begun my time of deep, intimate communion with You for the next several weeks. Lend Your ear this way and hear the petition of your servant. I am seeking You in a great matter of which You have placed on my heart. It is the beginnings of things to come because You told me it would happen. I’m not bragging about tomorrow. Your promise will come true. Thank You for speaking to me today about boasting about what may or may not happen in the future but instead to put ALL my trust in You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

