Longing to hear, “in whom I’m pleased.”

Scripture:
And suddenly a voice came from heaven, saying, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.”
 – Matthew 3:16

Observation:
John the Baptist had been preaching and baptizing in the Jordanian wilderness long before Jesus began his public ministry. One day Jesus approached John to be baptized in the Jordan River. John tried to stop Jesus, who insisted on being immersed. John acquiesced and immersed Him. When Jesus arose from the water, the Holy Spirit descended upon Him in the form of a dove while God spoke and said audibly that Jesus, His Son, had pleased Him.

Application:
What are we doing to please our heavenly Father? Hebrews 11:6 tells us that without faith it is impossible to please God. When Jesus went under the water, He did what the Father told Him to do. Jesus didn’t have to be baptized for the repentance of sins because He was born sinless. He did so to show everyone else that baptism done through faith pleases the Father. In fact, we know that whatever we do in faith toward God pleases Him.

Paul would later write, for whatever is not from faith is sin (Rom. 14:23b, NJKV). He would also quote at one point in time the prophet Habakkuk, who said, the just shall live by faith (Hab. 2:4b, NKJV) and added elsewhere, For we walk by faith, not by sight (2 Cor. 5:7). Thus, when we lead our lives and do whatever we desire outside of God, we really displease our heavenly Father. In fact, we sin. Sin is simply defined as not obeying God, which can also mean to live your life independent of God. Therefore, let us learn the beauty of trusting in God through faith in Jesus by the grace He’s given us and thereby be able to please our Father, Jehovah!

Prayer:
Father, I ask you humbly to increase my faith. I’ve walked most of my earthy life by sight (senses) and emotions rather than fully trusting in You. I’m learning to relinquish control of my life and all areas of my life to You and follow Your desires, instructions, and mandates. Why? Because I’m learning to love You more and more each day and choose to obey You in faith out of love and not strict adherence to a code of laws, rules, or regulations. Please continue to lead me in the paths of righteousness for Your names sake. I don’t want to veer off course to the right or left but to remain on the highway of holiness, which is quite narrow. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

