Are you doing what the Lord commands?

Scripture:
Then Moses and Aaron did so; just as the Lord commanded them, so they did. – Exodus 7:6

Observation:
God had spoken to Moses at the burning bush and commissioned him to be the spokesman to Pharaoh for God. Moses balked at first and made excuses why he couldn’t do the job, but God gave Aaron the job of doing the talking. The two brothers harkened unto the voice of God and eventually did all that God instructed them to do in speaking to Pharaoh regarding his releasing Israel from Egyptian control.

Application:
As I read the opening of the 7th chapter of Exodus, I couldn’t help but hear God’s Spirit speak to me and ask me, “Will you do “just as the LORD [commands]?” For most of my relationship with God, I had not done all that He instructed me to do. In fact, many times I have questioned my love for God because of not having done all He asked of me. Why? Because Jesus said, “If you love Me, keep my commandments.”

What are those commandments?

(1) Love the LORD your God with all of your being.

(2) Love your neighbor as yourself.

(3) Love each other as I have loved you.

(4) Preach the gospel to every creature.

(5) Baptize them in the name of the Father, Son and Spirit.

(6) Make converts into disciples and teach them all I’ve commanded you.

(7) Be my witnesses to your hometown, nation, and the world.

Are we doing those things? If not, it doesn’t mean that we don’t love God, but we had better check ourselves more closely. Why wouldn’t we do these things? Fear? Doubt? Instability? These are all things from hell not God because God give us a Spirit of love, joy, and a sound mind not fear. Paul wrote that anything not of faith is sin, so fear, doubt, and instability are not of God. It takes faith to believe in and please an invisible God. Moses and Aaron did all that God commanded because they loved Him more than life itself. They trusted that the God of their fathers would deliver them according to His promise made 430 years prior to Abraham. Do you trust God enough to do what He asks? This verse made me rethink all that I’m doing, have done, and am thinking of doing. Is it of God, or self? What is the motivation? Love or fear? Think about it; then do it!

Prayer:
Father, You’ve called me to preach Your Good News to the lost. I’ve not done much of that lately. I’ve allowed things of life to creep in and steal away little bits of time that have added up and taken away large chunks of time originally meant to be serving You. Forgive me, sir, please! I’ve no greater desire than to serve You in whatever capacity You set before me. I have to trek back to Your own words, “not my will, but Your will be done….in earth as it is in heaven.” LORD, “give me this day, my daily bread. Forgive me, as I forgive those who’ve sinned against me.” I do love You, and I will obey Your commandments out of love for You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

