The LORD will provide.

Scripture:
For the breast of the wave offering and the thigh of the heave offering I have taken from the children of Israel, from the sacrifices of their peace offerings, and I have given them to Aaron the priest and to his sons from the children of Israel by a statute forever. Leviticus 7:34

Observation:
As God continued to speak with Moses, personally, about the laws for the five animal sacrifices, He noted that there are two portions of the peace offering that are to be set aside for the priest and those of the priestly line. In that offering the breast and thigh of the animal used in the wave and heave offerings, respectively, were to be given to the priests to supply them with food. God planned to allot various portions of the Promised Land to the tribes of Israel; however, the tribe of Levi would receive no inheritance in the Promised Land because the LORD was their inheritance. God separated that tribe as special servants to serve and worship Him. He would be their source and provision. Levites would allotted land to live on and raise their families and crops and livestock, but they couldn’t have a separate tract of the land for themselves, as did the other 11 tribes.

Application:
When God says that He will provide for you, He will do just that. The tribe of Levi, in the days of old, served as a living example of how God provided for His people. The priests didn’t have a share among the tribes of Israel. They had land on which they lived and farmed, but there was no area of Israel designated as Levi, like there was with Judah and Benjamin, which became better known as Judea. The priests relied upon the offerings of the people of Israel to supply them with meat and bread. The LORD took from the plenty of Israel to care for His ministerial servants.

So then, how does this apply to you and me, today? Well, Paul wrote to the Philippian congregation of his day and told them through Spirit-inspired words that God will supply all our need according to His riches in glory by Jesus the Messiah. When Paul said all, he meant all! God will not supply just some of our needs, He will supply them all. Now, we must know and realize the difference between a want and a need. Wants are those things in life we like and can use but are necessary to sustain life or allow life to function daily. We call those things the bare necessities: food, clothing, shelter, and water.

The truth is that Jesus taught us how to have the things, necessities, required to live. In the Sermon on the Mount, Jesus said that if we seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, then God will add the necessities of life to us. Just prior to this statement, Jesus noted,

Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?

So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?

Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. (Matthew 6:25-32)

Stop worrying about the current economic downturn in our nation. Don’t let the global upheaval stir up tension, strife, or worry in you. God knows about every little last detail of the events transpiring in our world. He created it. He still sits on the throne of heaven and makes earth His footstool. Nothing goes on without His knowledge of it. Remember, He knows the end from the beginning. If God cares enough to feed the birds of the air, how much more will He take care of you? If you let Him. The answer lies in our trusting God to provide and to thank Him when He does. I am not saying to just sit back and do nothing. No, God expects us to be a part of what He is doing in the world. We are His children AND His servants. Yet, we must put all our hope and trust in Him to lead us and provide for us. He is YHWH Yireh!

Prayer:
Father, You provided for the priests during the days of sacrificial worship. You feed the animals of the world and the plants as well. How much more valuable are we to You than those? Much more! You created us in Your image. Help me to see Your provision in everything around me. You gave me my wife, my job, my car, my residence, my clothes, my food, my water supply, and all the other good and perfect gifts within my sphere. I lack for nothing. I feel like David when he penned the 23rd Psalm. You, O LORD, are my Shepherd. I will not want! You lead me beside still waters (to drink) and make me lie down in green pastures (to eat). I have nothing to fear. You are for me, so who can be against me? With You as my Source and Provider, there is nothing I lack. I have more than enough and share the overflow with others. As You continue to increase our blessing, we will share more and more with others. We will do so even if we don’t have things to spare. We love You with all that we are and want to love our neighbors as ourselves. Thanks again for everything. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

