Is Jesus truly your Lord?

Scripture:
But why do you call Me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do the things which I say? – Luke 6:46

Observation:
In Luke’s account of the Sermon on the Mount, he includes a passage that speaks of the parable of the one who builds his house on a solid foundation. The wise man secures the structure of his house to the foundation to prevent natural disasters from destroying it. The foolish man doesn’t take this necessary precaution and loses his house when storms come a brewing. Jesus prefaced this parable by asking the disciples this simple, little question: why do you call me, Lord, Lord, and not do the things which I say?

Application:
Those who are wise do what the Lord says while foolish people ignore His words. Those who obey God do so because they have a firm foundation built upon the Rock – Jesus! They can weather the storms of life and not fall apart when disaster, of any nature, befalls them. Jesus anchors them to Himself, the Rock of Ages. He doesn’t bend to the storms of life but rather with a few small words, Peace – be still, calms even the most violent of storms and any fears that may try to overwhelm us.

On the other hand, Jesus says that if we love Him, we are to obey Him. Only a foolish person would listen to the words of the Master and then refuse to do them. He spoke of such people in the parable of the two sons. One refused to do the task given by their dad but later repented and did it anyway. The other brother readily agreed to do it up front but failed to carry out his task, as his dad had asked. Jesus put forth the question of whom carried out the will of their father. The people replied that the son who obeyed did. Jesus said, they answered correctly.

How can we honestly call Jesus our LORD and not do what He commands? He told us that His yoke is easy and burden light, but do we really believe that? Do we fully comprehend the intent of His message? An easy yoke and light burden? What are those? We are the ones to make life difficult. If we knew who we really are in Jesus and the Power that lives in us, then we’d realize and know that life truly is easy and light! Jesus already conquered death, hell, and the grave. He whipped Lucifer and took back the deed of earth from him. At the name of Jesus, all demons must bow and flee! At the name of Jesus EVERY knee must bow and tongue confess that He is LORD!

His commands are the following:

Many will one day in eternity future stand before Him and recall all the “great & wonderful” deeds they performed in Jesus’ name, and say to Him, Lord, Lord… However, He will look at them and say,Depart from Me because I never knew you, workers of sin. Why? Because they never really loved Him and accepted His gift of salvation by grace through faith. Have you been saved by grace through faith? Does your love for Jesus cause to do good works for others? OR, is your faith dead? Search your heart and ask yourself if He, Jesus, truly is your LORD or just someone you think of as Lord? Do you do what He asks you to do? OR, are you just doing what you think He’s asked to do but really is your will and not His? Think about it!

Prayer:
Father, how many times have I read Your word and gone over the commands in it? I can’t recall a number, but it would be every time I open my Bible. I haven’t always done everything the Bible tells me to do. In fact, I would dare say that the only person to ever do everything the Bible states is You! We are people, and we will fail You at times, which doesn’t excuse our disobedience. Out of my love for You, I do my best to comply with Your will and commands. There have been times where I was the son who refused but repented and did what You asked while at other times I would say I’d do it but didn’t. I want to do what You say and thus truly call you, Lord! Give me the resolve and steadfastness to carry out the missions You’ve chosen for me to do! I humble myself before You and take a second look at whether what I’m doing is Your will or mine. As Jesus said, not my will but Your will be done! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

