Behave as though Jesus were right there with you, which He is!

Scripture:
 Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. – Philippians 1:27a

Observation:
Paul wrote a letter to the church at Philippi about his condition while in prison and shared with them news of his life. In his letter, he praised them for their work in the spreading of the Good News and assisting him along the way with gifts and offerings. Paul was extremely proud of this church, as would any dad regarding his children albeit these were his spiritual children. He told them in the letter to always conduct themselves so as to bring no reproach to the gospel of Christ.

Application:
Today, I hear God speaking TO ME with this simple word, “ Whatever happens, conduct [myself] in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ.” Notice that God says that “no matter what happens” we are to behave in such a way so as not to bring reproach upon the Good News of Jesus! We are living temples of God’s Holy Spirit. People watch our every move. They can see through hypocrisy and know the truth of whether a person really lives for God or not. God’s telling me to be careful about my behavior, my choice of words, and even my mannerisms. I don’t want to put a black mark on the name of God, misrepresent His kingdom, or cause a person to stumble because of my habits and actions and words.

Prayer:
Father, help me to control my words, thoughts, and deeds and to live my life in such a manner that all I do brings nothing but glory, honor and praise to You. I have messed up in the past, but I desire to live holy and be holy as You are holy. Your Word is so true, it’s not by my might or power but by Your Spirit that I am even able to live righteously or honorably. Thank you for helping me to see the importance and effect on others that my behavior has. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

