God can use even the smallest things to do miracles.

Scripture:
Elisha replied to her, “How can I help you? Tell me, what do you have in your house?” “Your servant has nothing there at all,” she said, “except a small jar of olive oil.”

Observation:
Elisha had been approached by a widow with an enormous debt, so large in fact, that her debtor came to take her sons away as payment. She sent for the prophet, who asked what she had on hand useful as payment. She replied that all she had was a small jar of oil. Elisha told her to go to all her neighbors and get ALL the pots that they had in which to pour the small jar of oil. The oil flowed as long as there were pots to fill. He then told her to take the oil, sell it, and live off the money left after the debts were paid.

Application:
How much do I really have to offer to God? In all reality, I have nothing as the widow said except a “little jar of olive oil.” As Paul the apostle said, all that I know is nothing more than a pile of manure in the eyes of God. Why? Because there is none righteous, no, not one. We are righteous only because of the righteousness of Jesus. However, Jesus does take the “little olive oil” within us to work with in this life.

God doesn’t expect us to come to him fixed and perfect, otherwise Jesus dies for nothing. If we were perfect and not in need of fixing, we wouldn’t need Jesus. Thus, I offer myself to Jesus with all that I am to allow Him to take care of my needs. I used to think, “How can God do anything through me or with me?” But, then I learned that what seems like a useless thing (to me) can be and is a mighty tool of righteousness in His hands.

Prayer:
Father, although in my eyes, I see me as nothing more than just a big problem, I offer my complete life to you and submit myself to You in order that You may complete the good work You started in me. Help me to see myself, and others, as You do and not to discount anyone because You look on the heart of man and not on the outward appearance, as we are prone to do. Help me to value all people, especially myself. Take this little jar of olive oil and make something of it. I am Yours! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

