God’s Word always come to pass, but not always when we expect.

Scripture:
And the LORD was gracious unto them, and had compassion on them, and had respect unto them, because of his covenant with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, and would not destroy them, neither cast them from his presence as yet. – 2 Kings 13:23

Observation:
After Elisha died, King Hazael ofSyria attackedIsrael and oppressed them for a long time. Eventually God sentIsrael a savior time and again to relieve their suffering and spare them from utter destruction at the hands of their enemies. God did so because of his love forIsrael and his promise to the patriarchs of giving them descendants that would number like the stars and grains of sand. However, God toldIsrael as far back as Moses that if they departed from the ways of God, He would eventually cast them out of his presence. The books of the kings tells us that the Samarian kings never departed from the sins of Jeroboam son of Nebat, who caused Israel to sin and not follow Jehovah. God didn’t kick Israel out at the time of Elisha’s death, but it would come to pass eventually.

Application:
What is this passage speaking to me today? I hear the voice of God telling me that He stays true to His word, no matter what. God said He’d kick out Israel (and Judah) for turning away from Him. He did! A lot of time passed from Moses’ warnings in the wilderness to the times God exiled both kingdoms; nevertheless, His word came to pass!

God has given us so many promises in His Word. The beauty of knowing that is that God’s promises will come true in our lives IF WE follow His Word. I cannot expect to receive God’s blessings and favor in my life IF I am violating the very things He says not to do. I iterated many months ago and reiterated just days ago that obedience brings blessing. God’s trying to get into my head that trusting in Him and obeying His Word will bring to fruition the promises He’s made to me. It’s that simple!

I might have to wait a good while to see and enjoy the fruit of my labor and the result of His promise, but like the commercial says, “It’s worth the wait.” Just as God promised to remove Israel from the land for their rejection of Him, He’s promised me blessing and favor, as I walk according to His Word. I will wait upon the LORD and do as He says. I want to walk in the rewards of obeying the Father. I might get rich or have many things in this life, oh but the rewards in the next life will far exceed anything in this life.

Prayer:
Father, help me to walk according to Your will and ways. I want it to be said of me that “he did what was right in the eyes of the LORD and did all that God asked of him to do.” What a sweet reward that would be! I want Your blessing and favor on my life, not to bring me glory or fame or personal gain, but that I may get to know You more and more and use the rewards of that blessing for the benefit and welfare of others. To give freely what I have received freely. To love my neighbor as myself. Thank You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

