Gratification v. destiny.

Scripture:
The sons of Reuben the firstborn of Israel (he was the firstborn, but when he defiled his father’s marriage bed, his rights as firstborn were given to the sons of Joseph son of Israel; so he could not be listed in the genealogical record in accordance with his birthright. – 1 Chronicles 5:1

Observation:
In this chapter we read of the genealogy of Reuben, the first born of Israel. The first verse of chapter 5 tells us that Reuben was entitled to the right of the firstborn up until the day that he had sex with his father’s wife. Because of this great abomination, Reuben lost his birthright, which was given to Joseph, the beloved of his father Jacob. Thus, in the proper and official records of the genealogies of Jacob, Reuben was not listed as the firstborn.

Application:
Again, I see an example of desiring a good name over things and wants and desires even. Reuben gave up his position as heir to the throne, if you will, simply because he had sex with one of his father’s wives. For one moment of pleasure in sin, he tossed aside the greater portion of the inheritance from his father. In their day, the eldest son received the lion’s share of the inheritance. As his uncle Esau had done, Reuben gave away his honorable place to satisfy his craving.

How many times have we set aside the blessing that God has for us in a given situation all because we wanted to do things our way? Yes, we are still in God’s grace and receive forgiveness of sins when we confess them, but how many times have we sold ourselves short of God’s best for us because we want what we desire rather than what He desires for us? His choice is always the best and will bring about the greatest good for us. We may think that doing things our way will succeed, but the ways of man will always fail. Why? Because there is a way that seems right to people but always leads to destruction. The narrow path is the only way to life.

Prayer:
Father, what is it in my life that I desire that will sell me short of Your blessing and ultimate provision? Am I doing things that hinder my prayers and prohibit me from walking in the fullness of Your love? Please reveal to me the areas where there are shortcomings and deficiencies. I want to be fully committed and submitted to You in every area and aspect of my life. A good name is to be desired above things, but I don’t want just a good name. I want to have all that You want me to have. I don’t want to come just short of the finish line and realize that there could have been so much more in this life only to cross over the line with regrets. You know best, and I want to heed Your leading . In Jesus’ name, Amen.

