Another example of God’s promises coming true.

Scripture:
And the Lord your God said to you, ‘You will shepherd my people Israel, and you will become their ruler”…and they anointed David king over Israel, as the Lord had promised through Samuel. – 1 Chronicles 11:2-3

Observation:
When David was a child, Samuel came to him and anointed him oil as the next king over Israel to succeed Saul. David served Saul faithfully and mightily for years even up to the day of Saul’s defeat and death. Once Saul died, the people came to David and repeated the promise made to him by God through Samuel. The people then anointed David and made him king over all Israel.

Application:
Once again I see a prophecy and promise of the LORD being fulfilled to completion. The LORD spoke to David and told him that he would one day be king over His people and shepherd them. That came true after the death of Saul. David was a teenager when the prophecy was given, but he was 40 years old when it came to pass. Over 20 years transpired before the promise of God happened. Has God told you something would happen in your life?

Have you been worrying and wondering when it will happen? Have you ever tried to make the promise come true in your own power in your own timing rather than waiting on God? I have, and it always comes with a price. Sometimes the price is that more time is added to the fulfillment while other times God nipped it altogether.

Can you imagine what would have happened if David had not been patient and trusting in God? He would have lost the kingdom. There were times when He did his own thing and went on the run to hide from Saul’s army. He even went and trusted the king of the enemy and lived among them as one of their own. However, God chose to fulfill His promise on His timetable and not David’s or Saul’s schedule.

We must learn to trust in God for everything and learn to wait upon Him even when it seems like things are not going our way. God doesn’t give us everything we need to pass the test all at once. He gives us pieces of the puzzle to encourage us to work out our salvation with fear and trembling but also just enough to keep us relying upon Him for the complete answer.

Prayer:
Father, thanks again for showing me that Your faithfulness exceeds anything I can think or imagine. Your timing and choices are perfect. If I lived my life by my choices and leadings (which I’ve done), I’d be in huge messes with lots of trouble (which have happened in the past). Please help me to continue trusting in You and relying upon You for my answers, direction, and provision. I want to walk in the perfection of Your love and have all that You want me to have. Let the word You’ve spoken of me come to pass as You’ve determined. I step aside and defer to Your omnipotence and omniscience. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

