Give thanks to God for his goodness & grace.

Scripture:
Give thanks to Adonai; for he is good, for his grace continues forever. – 1 Chronicles 16:34 (CJB)

Observation:
David had prepared a new tabernacle for the ark of God besides the one God had commanded Moses to build. He set up the tent in Jerusalem, in the City ofDavid, and brought the ark of God from the house of Obed-Edom there. Once the ark had been put into place, David appointed priests to play music and sing praises to God and gave them a psalm to sing in praise to God. One verse in that psalm says to thank the LORD because he is good and because his grace continues forever.

Application:
Some days I like to write a goodly amount about how to apply the lesson for the day, but sometimes, the best thing to say is not much at all. I feel that the verse God’s chosen to speak to me needs no further explanation. Also, the application is quite self-explanatory – thank God! Why? Because he is GOOD and his grace continues FOREVER. We don’t deserve anything God gives us: life, breath, food, clothing, shelter, existence, love or eternal life, etc. Our very existence happens because we are created for his good pleasure; it’s that simple! Therefore, let us praise God and thank him for all he is to us: Father, Counselor, Wonderful, Almighty God, Prince of Peace, Judge, Ruler, King, Lord, and so much more!

Prayer:
Father, there is nothing that I can do to earn or buy my way into heaven or to entice you to bless me. You choose to bless me and give me what you want me to have. I am humbled by the very thought that the awesome Creator of the universe would choose to love me, call me, and adopt me into his family. There are days that seem like your grace is nowhere to be found, but I’ve recently learned and taken to heart that your Grace is none other than Jesus, God the Son. That’s simplistic in thought but oh so deep in application. Thank you for your goodness and gift of Jesus to redeem me from my formerly, ill-fated future that has been rewritten into one of eternal life with you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

