Escaping the wrath to come.

Scripture:
and to wait for his Son Yeshua, whom he raised from the dead, to appear from heaven and rescue us from the impending fury of God’s judgment. – 1 Thessalonians 1:10

Observation:
Paul writes to the Thessalonian church and strengthens and encourages his fellow beleivers in their relationship with Christ. In his letter, he mentions of their goodness toward him and other believers. He also makes mention that they had turned away from idols to serve the one, true God and await the coming of his Son, Jesus, who will rescue us from the wrath of God’s fury.

Application:
I’ve often heard of the pre-/mid-/post-tribulationists, and I am not one to make a doctrine out of a single verse. This verse spoke to me today from the heart of God and told me that God doesn’t set his children up for a coming fury reserved for those who reject his love and grace in Jesus. Do you hear the words of Paul, “…to rescue us from the impending fury of God’s judgment”? Let’s think about this for a moment. IF God sent Jesus to pay the price for our sins and redeemed us from the coming fury of his judgment, THEN why would Jesus allow us to go through his furious judgment reserved for the end of this age? This verse alone gives me great cause to lean toward the pre-tribulation rapture, to which I already subscribed.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for sending Jesus to pay the price for my sins, which is the greatest act of love ever and which I didn’t deserve. Your Spirit’s words through Paul show me that your love exceeds anything and everthing my mind can conceive. The thought of people, your people going through the tribulation, your impending fury, makes me shudder let alone for those whom it is reserved. I put my trust in you, so that whether I go before, during or after such judgment gives me no cause for concern or worry. The blood of Jesus has redeemed me and saved me. I am free! Thank you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

