God supplies and provides.

Scripture:
The king made silver and gold in Yerushalayim as common as stones, and he made cedars as abundant as sycamore-fig trees in the Sh’felah. – 2 Chronicles 1:15

Observation:
This second book of Chronicles starts out with the life and times of Solomon, who followed David on the throne of Israel. One day God asked Solomon what he wanted, to which he replied wisdom and understanding to rule God’s people. God then gave him those as well as honor, glory, fame, power, and wealth, which he didn’t request. In fact, God made the abundance of gold and silver in Jerusalem so great that it was as common as stones.

Application:
God tells us in his word that he owns all the cattle on a thousand hills and that all the gold and silver are his possession. In fact David wrote that the earth and the fullness thereof belong to God. Thus, we see that it was no big thing for God to make Solomon the richest man who would ever live. Solomon possessed so much gold and silver that silver became practically meaningless in value.

So how does this speak to me? Well, if God can supply Solomon with all these earthly riches, then there should be no problem in him providing me with earthly necessities. Of course he can! Jesus promised us that if we seek first the kingdom of God and God’s righteousness, then all the necessities of life would be added to us.

I don’t desire the hoard of precious metals like Solomon had, but I do desire to lay spiritual riches in heaven. In these times of economic hardship and vast unemployment, we need to look to God for all our provision. It is through God’s riches in glory through Jesus the Anointed One. However, knowing that my Dad owns everything in this world assures me that I don’t have to worry about food, clothing, and things. He will provide what I need when I need it. If he chooses to provide things above and beyond the necessities, then I will enjoy them, share them, and most importantly praise God for them.

What spiritual rewards can I lay up in heaven? The souls of those people who come to know and have a personal relationship with Jesus because of my obedience to God’s word and will for my life.

Prayer:
Father, you are my provider. You are able to supply me with riches or with the necessities. I am not one to clamor for things. If I have them to enjoy and share, then I will. However, if I have what I need to endure till the next day, then so be it. I trust and rely upon you. Teach me to be like Paul and to be content in all situations whether I have or don’t have. It’s all about you. You like giving to your children, and I like giving back to my Father. May my praise and worship, today, bring you pleasure. Thanks for it all. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

