God may have other plans.

Scripture:
Thus saith the LORD, Ye shall not go up, nor fight against your brethren: return every man to his house, for this thing is done of me…” – 2 Chronicles 11:4

Observation:
Rehoboam succeeded Solomon to the throne of Israel, and he whipped the people more austerely than his father had done. Thus, the people rebelled against the king and seceded from the country to start a new nation under the leadership of Jeroboam the son of Nebat, as God had prophesied earlier. God did this because Solomon walked in the ways of other gods and served other idols while abandoning the God of his fathers. Rehoboam started to regain control of the rebels, but God stopped because it was God’s doing, not his.

Application:
What has happened recently in my life in which God has told me to stop because the occurring events were his doing? The first things that surfaced in my heart were my concern and worry over employment, money, and health. Everything that happens in life happens because of some reason or another. Nothing in life happens by mere chance or circumstance. There is always a cause and effect: sin unto death, salvation unto eternal life, and so on.

Jesus taught us to seek first his kingdom and his righteousness FIRST in our lives, and THEN HE would add all the basic necessities of life to us! Who am I to worry about what I eat, drink, or wear? ISN’T GOD the provider? Does he not own all the gold and silver? ISN’T the earth and its fullness his possession also? ISN’T he faithful? ISN’T he able to do above and beyond all we can think or imagine?
SO, who am I to worry and wonder about the necessities of life but instead should be focusing upon him and his righteousness? HE WILL PROVIDE! HE IS STILL JEHOVAH JIREH – THE LORD GOD OUR PROVIDER!

Prayer:
Father, forgive me for the sin of worry, fret, and doubt. YOU ARE MORE THAN ABLE TO DO ALL THINGS! I drop to my knees in humility and recognize and acknowledge your omnipotence, majesty, and supremacy over all of creation, including me! Help me to place more faith in you and to trust you more to provide for me. I am able to do nothing in my own power, for it is by your Spirit that anything gets done in my life. You have me where I am because of some bad choices in my life, but your hand is in it also. I stop bucking against your will and word. Lead me, and I will follow. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

