Follow only Godly advice.

Scripture:
So he did what was evil from ADONAI’s perspective, as had the house of Ach’av; because, to his destruction, they were his counselors after his father died, and he lived his life by their advice. – 2 Chronicles 22:4-5 (CJB)

Observation:
Ahazaiah became king after his father’s ill-fated death because of his leadingJudah into idol worship as had the house of Ahab in Israel. Ahazaiah’s counselors and viziers were men who were greatly influenced by the house of Ahab, not to mention that Ahazaiah was a descendant of Ahab. His royal advisers counsel directed him to live in idol worship and to turn away from the living God, ADONAI, God of Israel. His adherence to their foolish counsel ended up causing him to lose his life.

Application:
What counsel do you take, and from whom do you receive it? This king ofJudah could have listened to men who followed after God, but being of the house of Ahab, he decided to listen to the followers of Baal. I hear God warning me to be careful as to whom I speak with and take answers from in regards to life’s decisions. My first and foremost counselor should be and must be the Wonderful Counselor, Jesus! If we seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, then the necessities of everyday life will be given unto us by God.

We, all, need to heed the words of Ahazaiah’s great-X grandfather, David, How blessed are those who reject the advice of the wicked, don’t stand on the way of sinners or sit where scoffers sit! Their delight is in ADONAI’s Torah; on his Torah they meditate day and night. They are like trees planted by streams – they bear fruit in season, their leaves never wither, everything they do succeeds. If we learn to heed David’s (via the Holy Spirit) advice, then we will live our lives in peace and under the blessing of God, unlike this Judean king and son of David who rejected God and lost all including his life.

Prayer:
Father, I know Jesus was known as the friend of sinners and associated with those whom the religious elite of his day avoided because of their arrogance and pride. However, I know that Jesus rejected the advice of sinners and remained faithful to you all the way to the cross, so that I could one day be a part of your family. Help me to walk in your Spirit and operate in the Spirit’s gift of discernment in order to know who is trying to feed me a line of deceit versus someone really sent of you to give me wise counsel. I know the first place to start is to read and study your written word, the Bible, where I will become rooted in you. Help me to know the difference between false counsel and true counsel sent from you. I love you! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

