Follow after God with all your heart, soul, mind & strength.

Scripture:
He did what was right from ADONAI’s perspective, but not wholeheartedly.– 2 Chronicles 25:2

Observation:
Amazaiah succeeded his father, Joash, as king ofJudah. Joash had served God rightfully so long as the God-fearing high priest, Jehoiada lived. When the priest died, the king did evil. Well, his son sort of followed suit. The Bible tells us that Amazaiah did what was right according to God, but not with all his heart and soul. He would follow God for a while and at various times would turn from following God. He lived the see-saw believer’s life.

Application:
How long did I live my life this way? I grew up in church, as we say, and lived my life serving God in many capacities but never with a wholehearted approach. I see in the life of this king the path that I had walked for a long time. Even in this time period of my life I see myself at times “serving” God but in what capacity? Am I serving God out of obligation? Am I serving God out of compulsory obedience? Or, am I serving God out of the desire of my heart to love my God with all my heart, soul, mind and strength?

Today, God asks me to take an inventory of me…why do I do the things I do? I had thought for so long that I served God with all my spirit, soul, and body, but I realized that I had done things out of arrogance and pride, out of guilt, out of obligation, and even out of false humility. God shows me today that any service to him done outside of a wholehearted approach is still done in a half-hearted approach. It is either all or none with God. There is no straddling the fence. We cannot serve two masters, for we will love the one and hate the other. We either serve God, or we don’t! Period! There is no other choice. We either serve him out of complete love for him with all that’s in us, or we don’t! Period!

Prayer:
Father, I want to express my love for you in praise and worship, but I know and want my life to be an awesome display of worship to you simply because I love you. I have been walking sort of loosely lately and not giving it my all. I have been lax in serving you in some areas of life. Please forgive me for this lackadaisical attitude. You desire all of me, and I don’t want to give you anything less than all of me, simply because you bought me with the blood of Jesus – a high price to pay! Your word states that those that sought you wholeheartedly succeeded in all they did for you. That’s what I want said of me. I do love you with all of me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

