The One with us is greater than the one with him.

Scripture:
“Be strong! Take courage! Don’t be afraid or distressed on account of the king of Ashur or all the horde he brings with him. For the One with us is greater than the one with him —  he has human strength, but we have Adonai our God to help us and fight our battles!”  – 2 Chronicles 32:7-8a

Observation:
Hezekiah was still king of Judah when the Syrian army came to lay siege to Jerusalem. The invaders surrounded the city and taunted the people inside the city, but the king encouraged his people to stand with him and with their God, the LORD. His words gave an assurance to the people, who feared that the invading army would destroy them. Hezekiah reminded the Hebrews that the One with them was greater than the human power of this massive force.

Application:
As I read this passage today, I was immediately reminded of the apostle’s words, Greater is he that is in me than he that is in the world. IF the LORD God really lives in us and IS GREATER than all the powers of darkness and has overcome the powers of darkness, THEN WHY do we live our lives in defeat???

I hear the LORD telling me to stand firm in my walk with him and to rely solely upon him. Hezekiah was a man who succeeded in all he set out to do for God because he did so wholeheartedly. He learned the value of standing still and seeing the salvation of the LORD, as God fought their battles and defeated their enemies!

Thus, I will stop trying to do it all in my power and might and instead let the Spirit of God fight the battle. I will trust in him to lead me and provide for me. I will be still and know that HE IS GOD!

Prayer:
Father, if King Hezekiah could lead your people and trust you to defeat a mighty, imposing army, then why have I had trouble at times trusting you to do even the little things in my life? Both Hezekiah and John affirmed your word that YOU ARE GREATER than all the forces of darkness, of this world, and of everything. Satan can do nothing to defeat me. I basically defeat myself when I give in to the enemy’s deception and lies. Help me to stand strong and to trust completely in your ability. I ask you to fight my battles for me. Oh LORD I want to see your salvation in action! Let your will be done, not mine. I won’t trust in my power or might but in your Spirit, who is greater than he that is in this world (and all his minions). In Jesus’ name, Amen.

