It’s by God’s power we fulfill our purpose.

Scripture:
…we always pray for you that our God may make you worthy of his calling and may fulfill by his power every good purpose of yours and every action stemming from your trust. – 2 Thessalonians 1:11

Observation:
Paul writes his second letter to the Thessalonian congregation and tells them of how he and others regularly pray for them to God. In his letter he notes that in his prayers, he asks God to make the entire congregation worthy of God’s calling. Also, Paul mentions in his prayers for this church that God would fulfill every good purpose of theirs and every action stemming from their faith in God, but do so by His power.

Application:
We all need prayer no matter who we are. It is good when other disciples of Jesus lift up each other to the Father in prayer. When you intercede for someone, you may not see the immediate or even eventual outcome of your prayer. However, you can know in faith that it will be heard and answered by God the Father. Additionally, I hear God telling me that his good purposes for me and the actions that result from my faith in him come about by his power….Sound familiar????It’s not by might nor by power but by my Spirit! Doing things in my power or might (or you in yours) will fail. Solomon said that unless the LORD build the house, the builders labor in vain!!

Prayer:
Father, did you have to pull out the big stick today and let me have it? I’m sure that you did so in love, and I deserve your correction. You correct those that you love, so even in my reprimand, I know that you love me! I desire less correction and more communion and intimacy with you, yet I know there are those time, when like a kid, I have it coming. You don’t send lightning bolts to zap me, but you do convict me of my errors and wrongs. Thus, I pray for myself that by your Spirit you fulfill the good purpose for which you’ve called me. May I be worthy of your high calling. I in turn pray for and lift up my brethren in Virginia and Ohio, so that they, too, may receive the same things. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

