The enemy will frustrate your work for God, but don’t give up.

Scripture:
They bribed officials to work against them and frustrate their plans during the entire reign of Cyrus king of Persia and down to the reign of Darius king of Persia. – Ezra 4:5

Observation:
When the enemies of Israel found out that the people of God were rebuilding the temple, they got frustrated. They sought to stop the work of God through any means necessary. These enemies of God and his people even hired other people to interrupt, disrupt, and try to halt the construction of the new temple. They did so for decades until the reign of Darius the Mede.

Application:
Whenever I set out on a mission from God, the enemy will do anything within his power and realm to stop that work or frustrate me enough to quit. I know that God will see to completion the good work that HE has begun in me. I have overcome the enemy by the blood of the Lamb and the word of my testimony. Satan may try to thwart the work of God I’m doing, but he will never succeed in keeping me from doing God’s work. There are times I do get frustrated and have even felt like giving up and giving in to the pressure, but like Paul said, If God be for us, who can be against us? God will provide and protect. His work will be done because his word accomplishes all it sets out to do and won’t return void.

Prayer:
Father, there are days when I feel like the enemy beats me down, frustrates me, discourages me, and even tries to kill me. However, I know who holds my hand; it is you. You watch over me, your sheep, because you are the Great Shepherd. You even chase after me if I should stray away because you love me that much. I desire nothing more than to do your will because of your great love for me. I want to please my Father through faith in him. Help me to do all that you’ve asked and commanded me to do and do so all for the glory and expansion of your great kingdom. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

