Will you stand for Jesus when the heat is on?

Scripture:
And all the king’s servants who were within the king’s gate bowed and paid homage to Haman, for so the king had commanded concerning him. But Mordecai would not bow or pay homage. – Esther 3:2

Observation:
In the days of Esther being queen of Persia during the exile of the Jews, there was a man named Haman whom the king had promoted to the position of prime minister of the realm. Haman was a proud man and desired the praise and adulation of his subjects, much like Lucifer did in heaven. Thus, Haman had the king pass a law that all people were to bow and pay homage to him as he passed by them. All the people in the king’s gates did so save Mordecai, who was a Jew and would only bow and pay homage to the LORD God of heaven.

Application:
To what or whom are we bending the knee and paying homage? IS it the LORD God Almighty to whom we bow and pay homage? OR, is there another? I have to stop and admire the boldness and courage of Mordecai, who refused to bow to any man even under the threat of death, according to the law of his day. There is fast approaching a time in the USA when it will be illegal to preach the salvation  which is in Christ Jesus, let alone mention his very name. When that time comes, if you’re still alive, will you have the fortitude like Mordecai to stand up for your faith in God and not bend to the will of the government? It’s time we took an inventory of our lives and sought God’s Spirit in the matter. I want to be ready at any given to moment to have the gall and strength to stand tall for my God.

Prayer:
Father, fill me with the resolve, backbone of steel, and eyes of flint that Mordecai had. I want to be able to stand in that day when the world demands that I recant my belief in you and pay homage to it rather than you. Bah! I love you more than anything or anyone in the world. My love for you gives me the drive to strive for your kingdom and to do your will. Long live the King of kings and may I stand for him forever! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

