When you’re troubled or dismayed, seek God’s wisdom not that of man.

Scripture:
But now trouble comes to you, and you are discouraged; it strikes you, and you are dismayed. – Job 4:5

Observation:
Job had lost everything he had save his wife. Even his children were taken from him in a terrible storm. Job went into a horrific state of despair, but he refused to blame God for his situation. Then, he had three friends come over to the house to console him, but they ended up beating him down verbally and spiritually. His close friend, Eliphaz, spoke to him and asked him why he was down. His piety and blamelessness should have been his confidence in this matter, yet he said to Job that when trouble came to him, he became dismayed. What a guy!

Application:
Have you ever been down about something only to have someone come along and tell you the obvious? You know that you’re sad and down, and the friend, in an effort to cheer you up, ends up bringing you down further! Well, I’ve been there and know the “joy” of someone’s wise counsel that really is no counsel at all. There are some things in my life right now that have troubled me and caused me to become dismayed, as had Job’s plight done to him. I don’t need or want “friendly advice” from people, so I am turning to the Spirit of God for my consolation and counsel. He is our Wonderful Counselor given to us by the Father. I need his PERFECT word to help me in my situation. Yes, God will send people with his wisdom to help us along, and we need to be open to such. However, I have not had that happen as of late. Thus, I turn to the One Counselor who can help me.

Prayer:
Father, you know the issues of life that I face today. There are not easy ones. Therefore, I turn to you for counsel and wisdom. YOU have the perfect plan and the only plan for my life. I have made a mess of things at times and needed your guidance to get me out of the quagmire once more. Please lend me your ear and show me the path to life and freedom. You alone can solve my issues. Thank you for being patient with me and loving enough to deal with me yet again. I don’t want to trust in human thought or wisdom. I need your holy wisdom that is perfect and right. Your humble son, Jason. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

