The heart is deceitful. Where is yours, with God or not?

Scripture:
The human heart is the most deceitful of ALL [emphasis added], and desperately wicked. Who really knows how bad it is? But, I, the LORD, search ALL [emphasis added] and examine secret motives. I give ALL [emphasis added] people their due rewards according to what their actions deserve. – Jeremiah 17:9-10 (NLT)

Observation:
Jeremiah was sent to deliver a message of doom to the people of Judah because of the wickedness of their ancestors, who turned away from God to follow other gods, as well as for the more wicked deeds that the current generation had committed and were far worse than what their ancestors had done. God forewarned the people of Israel and Judah that their sins would be judged according to what they had done and would receive the just punishment that was afforded their actions. The interesting note of the passage is that God tells us that the human heart is the most deceitful object on earth, and no one can really know what lies within the heart. Thus, God looks on the inward heart of a man to judge him rather than the outward appearance. It’s what inside us that determines our destiny.

Application:
I could sit and read this passage and let it judge me for the wrong things I’ve done in this life. That judgment would be from the convicting work of the Holy Spirit. He convicts the world of sin, righteousness, and judgment. If there is sin in my life, He will point it out to me and expect me to repent and seek His loving grace and forgiveness. If I harden my heart to His Word, as did the ancient Jews, then I run the risk of suffering the same fate as they did – the judgment of God.

However, because I am a child of God with His being my Father, there are times when He’ll correct and chastise me for any wrong I’ve done. Why? Because He loves me. He is my Father! Now, He knows my heart and what lies in it. Do I fully know what is in my heart? I should. I am supposed to love God with all my HEART, soul, mind and strength. Have I made mistakes and sinned against Him? Yes. Have I thought about my mistakes and sins and turned from them?  Yes, it’s called repentance. Is the repentance genuine? Yes. I don’t want to grieve my Father’s Spirit any more than I did my earthly father’s spirit while he was alive. How much more so should I desire to honor and cherish the very One who made me and gave Himself for me?!?

I tire of the pursuit of things in this world. Solomon said that everything in this physical world is temporal and fleeting and like grasping at the wind. He surmised the whole of our existence in that the only everlasting thing in this world is God and His Word, which will never pass away. God is the eternal God. We are made in His image; thus, our spirits and souls are eternal. This flesh will die one day and be put into the ground. It, too, is temporal.

Again, however, it is during this temporal lifetime that we make the decision that affects where we spend eternity – with God or without Him. He calls and beckons those He desires into His kingdom and family. Many are called, but few are chosen. God wants everyone to come to repentance and be saved, but not everyone heeds His call or will listen to His Spirit’s conviction and surrender their lives to Him in order to have that personal relationship with Dad that Adam had in the Garden of Eden and which Jesus restored through His death and resurrection.

Because Jesus did pay the price for our sins and when we do accept God’s gift of eternal life through Jesus by grace through faith in the One who died and gave Himself for us, we are pardoned eternally of all sins that we committed. They are expunged from our criminal record of sin and forgotten by God. The blood of His Son blots them out. Thus, we are judged already and deemed innocent because of the price Jesus paid. If we refuse to accept this gift of eternal life through Jesus, then we accept the punishment that comes with our rebellion and wrongdoings that are worthy of damnation for an eternity.

God looks on the inside of every person and knows the status of their hearts. He even know the end from the beginning and thus knows who will respond to His calling and His choosing them as His own children. Have you heard the call from the Father, God, Creator of the universe calling you to come to Him and surrender your life to Him because you can’t save yourself? Has His Spirit wooed you and showed you the error of your ways in living separate and apart from Him? IF so, then respond to that convicting love call and answer the Lover of your soul, Jesus! He wants to make you His child. There is freedom in knowing you are His kid, but there is certain fear of the coming judgment for those that reject His gift! Woe unto those who reject the calling and choosing of God.

Prayer:
Father, I have done some things as of late of which I regret. They have not brought you glory. I confess the wrong that I did to you and ask you to forgive me for the wrong I did. Your Word states that You are faithful and just to forgive us of our sins if we confess them and to cleanse of all unrighteousness. I am a man of unclean lips and in need of the coal from the altar of heaven to be pressed to my lips through the blood of the Lamb of God and cleanse me. Help me to walk in the light of Jesus and in Your Spirit so as not to walk in the flesh or fulfill its desires. I don’t to be even temporarily separated from Your love because of my wrongdoings. Help me draw near to You. Let me find You while You are able to be found. I acknowledge You in all my ways (good and bad) and await You to direct and order my steps. May Your will be done in my life and not mine. Help me to walk the path You’ve set before me in purity and holiness. Refill me with Your Holy Spirit and rebaptize me in His consuming fire! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

