Prophets beware! Speak the truth, the whole truth (nothing else), so help you God!

Scripture:
Have any of these prophets been in the Lord’s presence to hear what he is really saying? Has even one of them cared enough to listen?…..Let these false prophets tell their dreams, but let my true messengers faithfully proclaim my every word. There is a difference between straw and grain. – Jeremiah 23:18, 28

Observation:
Jeremiah delivered a message to the kings of Judah and informed them of the message God gave them regarding the falser prophets of their day. God told them that there were many people prophesying in His name and declaring their own invented lies as the “prophecy of the LORD.” Even though God warned the false prophets of what He would do to them, He also stated that His true prophets should declare His real message instead of the lies of “peace and safety” heralded by Satan’s minions.

Application:
In the 18th verse, God gives a qualification for those wanting to hear from Him and know the truth of the future in a sense of the prophetic. He declared, Have any of these prophets been in the Lord’s presence to hear what he is really saying? Has even one of them cared enough to listen? Thus, the word for those given the gift of prophecy and anointed to be of the five-fold gift of prophecy, are you spending time in God’s presence to HEAR the word He tells you? Are you taking the time to LISTEN to His voice? Or, are you shooting off at the mouth with your own ramblings.

I once had a dear person in my life come to me about these very devotions in regard to this same matter of Am I hearing from God or posting my own thoughts? I included that warning message from God on another page of this blog. Read it, digest it, and understand it. There is great truth and danger in what was said. If we go around proclaiming to speak for God as the oracles of God but are making up our own lies, then we risk the finger of God on our lives. What a dreadful thing it is to fall into the hands of the living God!

I want to be absolutely sure that what I am saying is coming directly from the Spirit of the Almighty! He directs me to speak His truths and to do so concerning every word, not just those that I think need to be said. The entire message must be delivered even if it’s hard to swallow for some. It might just save someone’s life. So, I ask you, are you declaring the truth, the whole truth, so help you God?!?  Let’s be like Jesus and do and say only what we HEAR the Father say!

Prayer:
Father, You have really shaken me to the quick today. I tremble before You because of the seriousness and authority of Your word. You’ve chosen and anointed me to be a herald of Your holy Scriptures. May nothing ever come out of my mouth in regard to prophecy from You except that which You’ve said to me. I am Your servant and want to be obedient to You out of my love for You. Thank You for bestowing upon me the gift of prophecy and being one who declares Your prophetic word. I want to do and say only that which You have instructed me to do. May Your will be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

