Are you willing to stand in the gap for your country?

Scripture:
I looked for someone who might rebuild the wall of righteousness that guards the land. I searched for someone to stand in the gap in the wall so I wouldn’t have to destroy the land, but I found no one. – Ezekiel 23:30

Observation:
God spoke to the prophet again and again about the condition of Israel and Judah and how they had abandoned their God to serve idols and do their own thing. In his many dealings with the prophet, God told him that he would destroy the nation but leave a remnant that loved God and worshiped him. However, on one occasion God told Ezekiel that He searched the nation Judah looking for anyone who would stand up for the nation among the leaders and intercede for the Jews, but he found no one willing to do so.

Application:
Although you and I may not be the leaders of our nation in a governmental sense, we need to ponder the very statement that God made to the prophet. IS there anyone willing in America to stand in the gap and intercede for her? I am sure there are, and most intercessors do so in quiet. They go into their prayer rooms and times of quiet and pray for this nation and for God’s mercy on this nation. Thus, I simply ask you this day, “Are you willing to stand in the gap for this nation and see her children saved?” Not everyone who confesses Jesus as Lord and Savior will even consider doing this act of mercy; however, God (and I) call on you to join those who are willing to intercede and are interceding for the life of this very nation. Join us on your hands and knees in prayer to the LORD that we may see his grace and mercy extended upon this nation for a while longer before his certain and swift judgment befalls us. 

Prayer:
Father, you told us specifically to pray to you, Lord of the harvest, to send laborers into the fields ripe for the picking. Today, I ask that you would move on the hearts of your people to seek you in prayer and to spend time in communion with you, particularly in regards to the lost in this country. I know you heart doesn’t want to see anyone die and spend eternity in hell, so I entreat you, Dad, to raise up an army of warriors whose greatest weapon is their tongue speaking life in prayer to you. May they through their vigilant worship move your heart to spare us a while longer. I ask this myself. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

