Are you doing only what you see and hear God tell you to do?

Scripture:
 He said to me, “Son of man, watch and listen. Pay close attention to everything I show you. You have been brought here so I can show you many things. Then you will return to the people of Israel and tell them everything you have seen.” – Ezekiel 40:4

Observation:
The LORD took the prophet in the Spirit to a layout of the Temple in Jerusalem. God told Ezekiel to pay attention to the many details of the things he’d view in this vision. Once he’d seen the vision, Ezekiel was to relay the details of the Temple’s layout to the people of Israel. God showed him every room and the purpose of every space in the temple.

Application:
The point that stood out to me was the requirement that the prophet was told to pay close attention to everything the LORD showed him. Again, the purpose of him being shown everything was so he could relay it to the people of Israel. Well, I hear the Spirit telling me, “Are you watching and listening to everything I’m showing you?” This verse pierced my very spirit and soul. God has given each of us a message to relay to the world around us; it’s called the good news of Jesus or the Gospel. Jesus gave us the great commission prior to his ascension, and the mission is to preach (proclaim) the gospel (good news) to every person on the face of the earth and then baptize those that convert and make them into his disciples.

Now, even though we all have that mission to do, there are those who, like Ezekiel, have other and further messages to give to the people of God (it was Israel in his day). I am one of those people. They call us apostles, prophets, evangelists, pastors, and teachers. Our purpose is to equip and train the people of God to do every good work that he has for us. Therefore, we the members of the five-fold gifting must be sure that we watch and listen intently to everything that God shows us. He requires us to deliver his message to his people in order to accomplish their mission in life. Again, we all have the great commission to fill, but we each have a gift to use and need to know how to use that gift appropriately. That’s where ministers come in to play.

Men and women of the cloth, let’s be sure to say and do all that God has given us to do. We will answer to Dad for what we do and don’t tell his people.

Prayer:
Father, you’ve called me and chosen me to reach out to your people and equip them to do every good work that you’ve decided for us to do. Help me to fulfill my part of that plan and to ensure that I am seeing and hearing all that I am supposed to tell your people. Furthermore, I want to do like Jesus and ONLY say and do what YOU tell me to do. Nothing less and nothing more. Exactly what you have prescribed for your people. Thank you for loving me and helping me to be an instrument of your righteousness. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

