We are to care for God’s servants.

Scripture:
 Dear friend, you are being faithful to God when you care for the traveling teachers who pass through, even though they are strangers to you. They have told the church here of your loving friendship. Please continue providing for such teachers in a manner that pleases God. For they are traveling for the Lord, and they accept nothing from people who are not believers. – 3 John 1:5-7

Observation:
John the apostle wrote a personal letter to a friend within the church informing them of the love they have for the traveling teachers, evangelists as we’d call them today. He spoke highly of the believers who had cared for these brethren and showed them great hospitality. John shared his thanks for the generosity of the church and encouraged them to continue doing so, as it shows that they love the LORD.

Application:
From the days of my youth I have known that God called and chose me to be a “traveling teacher” or evangelist, gifted of God to help equip the members of God’s body and bride to do every good work that He has designed and assigned to each of us. As I have begun to set out on the mission given to me by God, I believe that God will provide and support me through the love and generosity of the body of Christ. I have given my life to God and trust Him to provide, just as He stated to us through Jesus, “Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added unto to you.” Jesus spoke of the physical needs we have: clothing, food, and shelter.

Too often we struggle to “provide” things for ourselves through human means rather than heeding and living according to the Word God has given us. As I go from congregation to congregation helping to equip God’s people, I don’t expect any support from them. I know God is my source. However, if a group of believers wants to invest in me as a servant of God, I’d not refuse their generosity so as to stifle their blessing for being obedient to God and assisting this ministry. Just as the Word says, those who gather more didn’t lack and those who gathered little had enough. Those who have plenty and give to help others will one day need those who had little to have plenty and support them. It’s God’s law of giving – give and it will be given back to you in more abundance than you can contain.

Prayer:
Father, although I have yet to receive any physical support from a congregation and nor do I expect to soon, I have enjoyed pouring myself into the local bodies where I have the privilege to serve and teach. I know from Whom my blessings come. I put my trust in You and will always seek You first. There is nothing that will stop me from trusting in You. Should you move upon the hearts of those among whom I serve and teach to support me, then so be it. However, I will always thank YOU for what I have because You are my Source and Provider. Thank You for all that I have had, do have, and will have. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

