Knowing that we are the LORD’s precious!

Scripture:
“Don’t be afraid,” he said, “for you are very precious to God. Peace! Be encouraged! Be strong!” – Daniel 10:19a

Observation:
Daniel spoke to an angel in a vision and had lost his physical strength, as he encountered the heavenly beings in this vision. As he lay there trembling, one of the heavenly beings touched him and restored his strength. The angel told the prophet that he was precious to God and to not fear but be encouraged and strong. What an encounter, but what an even greater message from God!

Application:
Today is not a message or sermon. This devotion focuses on the fact that a man of God, dedicated to being holy before his God, was considered precious and well-loved by the God of heaven. It is true that God loves all his children equally because he gave his only Son as payment for our sins. There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for his friends. Thus, God loves us all. However, God does show special favor from time to time. How can he do that? Because he is God. God never said we all had the same favor and level of blessing. Even Jesus had his 12 apostles, then his close three – Peter, James, and John, and then there was John the beloved.  All I know is that I want to hear from the Father that I am precious to him and to be encouraged and strengthened in Him! Oh what a thought! To be loved of the Father and the apple of his eye!

Prayer:
Father, I am not seeking any vain glory or special privilege from you today. No, I just want to know that I am your precious child. I know you love me, as son and servant. However, I want to know in my heart above all the tenderness of your gentle, caressing hands wrapped around me and hearing your still, small voice saying, “This is my beloved son in whom I am well pleased.” Thank you for loving me when no one else would and saving me when no one else could! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

