Doing the old crown throw down in heaven!

Scripture:
 Whenever the living beings give glory and honor and thanks to the one sitting on the throne (the one who lives forever and ever), the twenty-four elders fall down and worship the one sitting on the throne (the one who lives forever and ever). And they lay their crowns before the throne and say, “You are worthy, O Lord our God, to receive glory and honor and power. For you created all things, and they exist because you created what you pleased.” – Revelation 4:9-11

Observation:
Jesus took John the beloved into heaven through the Holy Spirit to show him a vision of the things that would happen in the future, which we know nowadays as the End Times. In this vision, John saw great and terrible things. Among the scenes he witnessed were some where 24 elders seated on thrones near the throne of God. There were also the same four cherubim there which Ezekiel had envisioned centuries before this time. They stood around the throne of God and worshiped him day and night. Whenever these cherubim worshiped God, the elders dismounted their thrones, laid their crowns before God’s throne, and worshiped God as well in a prostrate position.

Application:
As I read this passage above, I noted that the 24 elders fell on their faces before God and laid their crowns at his feet. They did this action EVERY time the cherubim would worship God by saying, “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD God Almighty, who was, who is, and who is to come.” The elders never failed to lay their crowns before God’s throne. They did this out of respect for the King of kings and Lord of lords. The elders loved their God and humbled themselves before him continually.

What I admired most about this passage is that these elders lay down their crowns willfully and respectfully. They adhere to the words of God when he stated, “I am the LORD; that is my name! I will not give my glory to anyone else, nor share my praise with carved idols. (Isa 42:8) and again when he stated, I will rescue you for my sake— yes, for my own sake! I will not let my reputation be tarnished, and I will not share my glory with idols! (Isa. 48:11).

The Bible speaks of us being able to receive at least one of five different crowns mentioned in Scripture. We, too, will one day lay down our crowns at the feet of the Lamb that was slaughtered and has seven horns and seven eyes, which are God’s seven-fold Spirit. He, alone, was the only One found worthy to open the seals of the scroll in God’s hand. The passage says that there were NONE in heaven, on the earth, or under the earth worthy of opening these seals on the scroll of God’s wrath. Thus, if Jesus is the only One worthy to do that, then it makes perfectly good sense to know that all who receive a crown from Jesus will lay it down before him in reverence of his being the King of kings and Lord of lords.

He has made us into a generation of priests and kings in his service. He even stated that we would rule and reign with him forever in the life to come. However, it’s like the quote from the Highlander series, In the end, there can be only One! That One is Jesus! King of kings and Lord of lords! He alone is worthy to receive glory, honor, and power. All things were created by him for his own good pleasure. If you doubt me, just reread the 4th chapter of Revelation in today’s reading. It’s all there in black and white. You will acknowledge one day, Jesus is LORD! and will do so to the glory of the Father. Every knee will bow and every tongue will confess these words, even from old satan himself. You may as well get used to getting on your face before God now and worship him in Spirit and in truth. Those are the only real ways we can worship him.

Prayer:
Father, oh how I love to praise you and sing about your glory. I enjoy getting on my face before you. Why? Because you know that I have a heart after you. I may not be perfect and may not have it all together in this life, but I do know that one day I will be with you for eternity. In eternity there will be countless times that all of heaven will fall on its face before you and give you the praise and worship you deserve. Thus, I practice now what I know I will be doing in eternity. I gladly lay down all that I have now before you in observance of your glory and power and honor and majesty. Help me to remain humble before you in this life and have a great reverence and love for you, as do the 24 elders around your throne. Even so, come quickly Lord Jesus. In your name, Amen.

 

